Human Exploration and Operations Committee

NASA Advisory Council

The NASA Advisory Council provides NASA's Administrator with counsel and advice on programs and issues of importance to the Agency.
› View Site

Loading ...

Human Exploration and Operations Committee of the NASA Advisory Council

The Human Exploration and Operations (HEO) Committee is a standing committee of the NASA Advisory Council supporting the advisory needs of the NASA Administrator and the Human Exploration and Operations Mission Directorate, as well as other NASA Mission Directorates. The scope of the Committee includes all human exploration and operations-related programs, projects, activities and facilities at NASA.

The HEO Committee has a subcommittee, The Research Subcommittee, that is established to review and assess NASA's approach to research in support of human exploration. More information is available on the Research Subcommittee page.

The Human Exploration and Operations Committee meets four times a year, usually several days before the meeting of the full NASA Advisory Council. Meetings are open to the public and are announced on this website, as well as in the Federal Register. The Committee's members are appointed by the Administrator of NASA, and represent a wealth of experience and expertise. Committee members are appointed for two years.

Point of Contact for HEO Committee: Dr. Bette Siegel, Executive Secretary; bette.siegel@nasa.gov

Meet the NASA Advisory Council Human Exploration and Operations Committee:

  • Mr. Ken Bowersox, Chair, Former NASA astronaut and retired U.S. Navy Captain
  • Ms. Shannon Bartell, Former director of Safety and Mission Assurance at NASA's Kennedy Space Center
  • Ms. Nancy Ann Budden, Director for Special Operations Technology, Office of the Secretary of Defense
  • Dr. Leroy Chiao, Former NASA astronaut and International Space Station Commander
  • Dr. Stephen "Pat" Condon, Aerospace Consultant, former Commander of the Ogden Air Logistics Center, the Arnold Engineering Development Center, and the Air Force Armament Laboratory
  • Mr. Joseph Cuzzupoli, Former Assistant Apollo Program Manager, Rockwell, and manager of the Space Shuttle Orbiter Project
  • Mr. Tommy Holloway, Former Space Shuttle and International Space Station Program Manager
  • Mr. Lon LevinPresident of SkySevenVentures
  • Dr. David E. Longnecker, Director, Health Care Affairs, Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), member of the National Academy of Sciences Institute of Medicine (IOM)
  • Mr. Michael Lopez-Alegria,  Former NASA astronaut and retired U.S. Navy Captain, President of the Commercial Spaceflight Federation
  • Mr. Richard Malow, Distinguished Advisor at the Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA)
  • Mr. Jim Odom, Former NASA associate administrator for the space station Freedom
  • Mr. Bob Sieck, Former Space Shuttle Launch Director.
  • Mr. James Voss, Former NASA astronaut and retired U.S. Army Colonel, Scholar in Residence, Department of Aerospace Engineering Sciences, University of Colorado, Boulder


Meeting Minutes and Reports

April 7-8, 2015  NASA Headquarters (HQ)
Agenda (PDF)

January 12-13, 2015  Stennis Space Center (SSC)
Agenda (PDF)
Minutes (PDF)

Overview Presentation of HEOMD/SMD Joint Activities – Dr. John Grunsfeld & Mr. Craig Tupper (135 MB PDF)
Evolvable Mars Campaign – Mr. Jason Crusan (11 MB PDF)
Status of the Human Exploration and Operations Mission Directorate – Mr. William Gerstenmaier (3 MB PDF)
Asteroid Redirect Mission Update – Dr. Michele Gates & Mr. Lindley Johnson (25 MB PDF)
Status of the Exploration Systems Development Division – Mr. Bill Hill (13 MB PDF)
Status of International Space Station – Mr. Sam Scimemi (103 MB PDF)
Lessons Learned from Commercial Orbital Transportation Services – Mr. Alan Lindenmoyer (2 MB PDF)

* The 508 Compliant version of each briefing will be available at a later date.

July 28-29, 2014 Langley Research Center (LaRC)
Agenda (PDF)
Meeting Minutes (PDF)

HEO Committee Status – Mr. Ken Bowersox (4 MB PDF)
Joint Session with NAC Science Committee – Dr. Jim Green (11 MB PDF)
Space Launch System and Discussion – Mr. Bill Hill (3 MB PDF)
HEO Status and Plans – Mr. Greg Williams (5 MB PDF)
Status of Commercial Crew – Mr. Phil McAlister (2 MB PDF)
Status of International Space Station – Mr. Dan Hartman (3 MB PDF)

June 23, 2014 NASA Headquarters
Agenda (PDF)
Meeting Minutes (PDF)

The Committee received the following presentations:
Exploration Strategy & Overview – Mr. William Gerstenmaier (18 MB PDF)*
Evolving Mars Missions and Trade Space – Mr. Jason Crusan (15 MB PDF)*

Meeting Minutes and Reports Archive

Human Exploration and Operations Committee

April 13-15, 2014 – Kennedy Space Center

December 9-10, 2013 – Kennedy Space Center
July 29-30, 2013 – NASA Headquarters
April 18, 2013 – NASA Headquarters
November 14-15, 2012 – NASA Headquarters
July 23-24, 2012

The Space Operations and Exploration committees were combined to form the Human Exploration and Operations committee in August 2011, to correspond with the merger of the Space Operations and Exploration Systems mission directorates.

Space Operations Committee

May 3, 2011 Meeting
Exploration Committee
› Ad-Hoc Task Force on Planetary Defense
August 2, 2011 Meeting
April 26, 2011 Meeting
Jan. 11, 2011 Meeting
Sept. 21, 2010 Meeting
Aug. 17 & 20, 2010 Ad Hoc Task Force meeting
Aug. 3-4, 2010 Meeting
July 8-9, 2010 Ad Hoc Task Force meeting
April 26-27, 2010 Meeting

The function of the Commercial Space Committee was merged with those of the Human Exploration and Operations Committee in December 2013, reflecting the success with which commercial space has become part of NASA’s human spaceflight activities.

Commercial Space Committee
July 30, 2013

March 1, 2013
November 26, 2012
September 18, 2012
July 23-24, 2012
May 1, 2012
February 23, 2012




Page Last Updated: March 18th, 2015
Page Editor: Carlyle Webb