Text Size
June 15, 2010
RELEASE 10-142
NASA Announces Education Research Program Award Recipients

WASHINGTON - NASA has awarded $16.8 million to colleges and universities nationwide to conduct research and technology development in areas of importance to the agency's mission. In addition to the research and technology development, the awards enable faculty development and higher education student support.

The selections are part of NASA's Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research, or EPSCoR. The program is designed to assist states in establishing an academic research enterprise directed toward a long-term, self-sustaining and competitive capability that will contribute to the states' economic viability and development. EPSCoR assists in developing partnerships between NASA research assets, academic institutions and industry.

A total of 24 proposals were selected for funding in Puerto Rico and the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia and Wyoming. Winning proposals were selected through a merit-based, peer-reviewed competition.

Two proposals were selected from each of the following colleges, universities and organizations:

College of Charleston
University of Alaska, Fairbanks
University of Idaho
Vanderbilt University
West Virginia University Research Corporation
One proposal was selected from each of the following universities and organizations:
Brown University
Louisiana Board of Regents
Maine Space Grant Consortium
Montana State University System
Nevada System of Higher Education
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
University of Alabama in Huntsville
University of Hawaii Systems
University of Kentucky
University of Mississippi
University of Northern Iowa
University of Puerto Rico
University of Wyoming
University System of New Hampshire

For a list of selected proposals, visit:


For additional information about NASA's EPSCoR program, visit:


For additional information about NASA and agency programs, visit:


- end -

Ann Marie Trotta
Headquarters, Washington

Tracy Young
Kennedy Space Center, Fla.

text-only version of this release

NASA press releases and other information are available automatically by sending a blank e-mail message to hqnews-subscribe@mediaservices.nasa.gov. To unsubscribe from this mailing list, send a blank e-mail message to hqnews-unsubscribe@mediaservices.nasa.gov.

Back to NASA Newsroom | Back to NASA Homepage


Image Token: 
Image Token: 
Page Last Updated: July 16th, 2014
Page Editor: NASA Administrator