Suggested Searches

Kathleen E. Schubert

Director, Space Flight Systems Directorate

Kathleen E. Schubert is the deputy director of the Space Flight Systems Directorate at NASA’s Glenn Research Center in Cleveland. Schubert, appointed to this position in 2019, shares the leadership responsibility for space flight and technology development projects and programs including space propulsion, space power, space communications, microgravity sciences, and materials development programs supporting the agency’s exploration and science mission objectives. 

Previously, she served as the senior integration manager for multiple large space flight systems acquisitions resulting in the selection of the prime contractors for the development of Gateway’s Power and Propulsion Element and the development of the Universal Stage Adaptor for the Space Launch System rocket. 

Prior to this, Schubert served as the deputy director of Safety and Mission Assurance, providing organizational leadership to ensure Aeronautics, Human Exploration and Operation, Science, and Space Technology mission success, and to provide key services to assure the safety and health of Glenn’s workforce. 

Since joining NASA in 1985, Schubert has worked on many space flight development programs starting with Space Station Freedom, followed by the Microgravity Science Program, the Orion Crew and Service Module, and the Orion European Service Module. She has many successes in building collaborations with complex and diverse technical teams across communities in project management, engineering and Safety and Mission Assurance, as well as with NASA’s industrial and international partners. 

Schubert is a native of Northeast Ohio. She holds a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from Ohio Northern University, a master’s in electrical engineering from Cleveland State University, and a Senior Expert Level Federal Acquisition Certification for Program/Project Managers. She has received numerous prestigious awards, including NASA’s Outstanding Leadership Medal, Exceptional Service Medal, and Exceptional Achievement Medal.