Suggested Searches

2 min read

NASA Acting Administrator Statement on the NASA Authorization Act of 2017

President Donald Trump signs NASA authorization act alongside NASA officials and members of Congress
President Donald Trump, center, signs the NASA Transition Authorization Act of 2017, alongside members of the Senate, Congress, and National Aeronautics and Space Administration in the Oval Office of the White House in Washington, Tuesday, March 21, 2017. From left, Rep. Kevin McCarthy, R-CA, Sen. Marco Rubio, R-FL, acting NASA Administrator Robert Lightfoot, Rep. Neal Dunn, R-FL, Sen. Ted Cruz, R-Texas,, Sen. Bill Nelson, D-FL, NASA Astronaut Office Chief Chris Cassidy, Rep. Martha Roby, R-AL, Rep. Lamar Smith, R-Texas, Sen. Luther Strange, R-AL, Rep. Robert Aderholt, R-AL, Rep. Frank Lucas, R-OK, Rep. Brian Babin, R-Texas, Rep. John Culberson, R-Texas, Rep. Jim Bridenstine, R-OK, Rep. Steven Palazzo, R-LA, NASA Astronaut Tracy Caldwell Dyson, Rep. Bill Posey, R-FL, Rep. Mo Brooks, R-AL, and Vice President Mike Pence. Credits: NASA

The following is a statement from NASA acting Administrator Robert Lightfoot on President Trump signing Tuesday the National Aeronautics and Space Administration Transition Authorization Act of 2017:

“We would like to thank President Trump for his support of the agency in signing the National Aeronautics and Space Administration Transition Authorization Act of 2017.

“We also want to express our gratitude to a bipartisan Congress for its thoughtful consideration of the agency’s path forward. We are grateful for the longstanding support and trust of the American people, which enables our nation’s space, aeronautics, science, and technology development programs to thrive.

“Our workforce has proven time and again that it can meet any challenge, and the continuing support for NASA ensures our nation’s space program will remain the world’s leader in pioneering new frontiers in exploration, innovation, and scientific achievement.”

NASA HQ Photo’s Flickr album: NASA Authorization Act of 2017.

Video: NASA Authorization Act of 2017 Signing

White House statement: President Donald J. Trump signs NASA Transition Authorization Act of 2017

For more information about NASA’s missions, programs and activities, visit:


Bob Jacobs
Headquarters, Washington