Mission Information


    Crews of STS-122 and Expedition 16 on the ISS

    Image above: From the left (front row) are NASA astronauts Stanley Love, mission specialist; Steve Frick, commander; Daniel Tani and Leland Melvin, both mission specialists. From the left (top) are NASA astronauts Rex Walheim, mission specialist; Alan Poindexter, pilot; and European Space Agency (ESA) astronaut Hans Schlegel, mission specialist. Image credit: NASA

    A veteran space flier, Navy Cmdr. Stephen N. Frick, commanded the STS-122 shuttle mission to deliver the European Space Agency's Columbus Laboratory to the International Space Station. Navy Cmdr. Alan G. Poindexter served as pilot. Mission specialists included Air Force Col. Rex J. Walheim, Stanley G. Love, Leland D. Melvin and European Space Agency astronaut Hans Schlegel. Poindexter, Love and Melvin made their first spaceflight on this mission.

    Expedition 16 Flight Engineer Daniel Tani, who flew to the space station on the STS-120 mission, returned home with the STS-122 crew. STS-122 delivered European Space Agency astronaut LĂ©opold Eyharts to the complex.

    STS-122 was the 24th shuttle mission to the International Space Station.

Mission Information

STS-122 Mission Features


    STS-122 crew insignia Launch:
    Feb. 7, 2008
    2:45 p.m. EST

    Feb. 20, 2008
    9:07 a.m. EST


    Mission Number:
    (121st space shuttle flight)

    Launch Window:
    10 minutes

    Launch Pad:

    Mission Duration:
    13 days

    Landing Site:

    51.6 degrees/122 nautical miles

    Primary Payload:
    24th station flight (1E), Columbus Laboratory

    + STS-122 Press Kit (PDF 5.5 Mb)
    + Mission Archives

Related Multimedia

  • STS-122 crew

    ReelNASA on YouTube

    Follow STS-122 through its training, days leading up to and during mission via behind-the-scenes videos on the ReelNASA YouTube channel.

    › View the videos  →
  • Space Shuttle

    Space Shuttle Gallery  →

    Imagery of shuttle missions from the Human Spaceflight gallery.