Suggested Searches

2 min read

NASA Glenn Inaugurates Hall of Fame to Honor Exemplary Employees

Hall of Fame 2015
Hall of Fame 2015 Credits: NASA

To mark the occasion of the NACA Centennial and look forward to the NASA Glenn 75th Anniversary in 2016, a Glenn Research Center Hall of Fame is being established to honor and recognize those who have built exemplary careers and contributed to our center’s success.  Honorees’ sustained and far-reaching influence on the direction and mission of the center, generation of fundamental advancements in their field, and inspiration to employees through their character and embodiment of the NASA spirit have earned them a spot in the inaugural class of inductees.

This year’s honorees include:

Annie J. Easley, computer programmer and equal opportunity pioneer

Bruce T. Lundin, former center director and advocate for NACA’s evolution as a space agency

James J. Modarelli, designer of the NASA insignia and outreach program

I. Irving Pinkel, leader in aerospace safety research

Edward “Ray” Sharp, first center director and champion of early center advocacy and  growth

Dr. Abraham “Abe” Silverstein, former center director and architect of the early space program

The Giants of Heat Transfer: Dr. Robert Deissler, Dr. Simon Ostrach, Dr. Robert Siegel, world-renowned researchers whose theories transformed the body of knowledge of heat transfer

This first induction is being held in celebration of the 100th anniversary of the NACA, which became NASA in 1958.  The next induction is planned for 2016 in celebration of NASA Glenn’s 75th anniversary.  The Hall of Fame will continue to grow with each milestone anniversary that follows.  Long after each anniversary is celebrated, this institution will serve as a reminder of our legacy.

View photos from the 2015 Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

View 2016 Hall of Fame Inductees.