Suggested Searches


Occurred 16 years ago

STS-124 shuttle mission was the 26th shuttle mission to the International Space Station and delivered the Pressurized Module and robotic arm of the Japanese Experiment Module, known as “Kibo” (hope). The mission also included three spacewalks.

Space Shuttle


mission duration

13 days, 18 hours, 13 minutes, 7 secs


May 31, 2008


June 14, 2008
STS-124 crew portrait with the crew standing in the orange launch and entry suits, holding helmets, in from of the NASA meatball patch.
The seven STS-124 astronauts took a break from training to pose for the crew portrait. From the left are astronauts Gregory E. Chamitoff, Michael E. Fossum, both STS-124 mission specialists; Kenneth T. Ham, pilot; Mark E. Kelly, commander; Karen L. Nyberg, Ronald J. Garan and Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency’s (JAXA) Akihiko Hoshide, all mission specialists. Chamitoff is scheduled to join Expedition 17 as flight engineer after launching to the International Space Station on mission STS-124. The crewmembers are attired in training versions of their shuttle launch and entry suits. (25 Sept. 2007)

Mission Facts

Mission: Deliver pressurized module and robotic arm to the International Space Station
Launch: May 31, 2008, 5:02 p.m. EDT
Landing: June 14, 2008, 11:15 a.m. EDT
Orbiter: Discovery
Mission Number: STS-124 (123rd space shuttle flight)
Launch Window: 10 minutes
Launch Pad: 39A
Mission Duration: 13 days, 18 hours, 13 minutes, 7 secs
Landing Site: KSC
Inclination/Altitude: 51.6 degrees/122 nautical miles
Primary Payload: 26th station flight (1J), Kibo Pressurized Module, Japanese Remote Manipulator System


Mark Kelly, Commander

Ken Ham, Pilot

Karen Nyberg, Mission Specialist

Ron Garan, Mission Specialist

Mike Fossum, Mission Specialist

Akihiko Hoshide, Mission Specialist

Gregory Chamitoff, Expedition 17 Flight Engineer, Embarking to International Space Station

Garrett Reisman, Mission Specialist, Returning from International Space Station

Mission Highlights

Navy Cmdr. Mark E. Kelly commanded the STS-124 shuttle mission to deliver the Pressurized Module and robotic arm of the Japanese Experiment Module, known as “Kibo” (hope), to the International Space Station. Navy Cmdr. Kenneth T. Ham served as the pilot. Mission specialists included NASA astronauts Karen L. Nyberg; Air Force Col. Ronald J. Garan Jr.; and Air Force Reserve Col. Michael E. Fossum. Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) astronaut Akihiko Hoshide also served as a mission specialist.

Astronaut Gregory E. Chamitoff flew to the station as a mission specialist on STS-124. He took Astronaut Garrett E. Reisman’s place as an Expedition 17 flight engineer and will return to Earth on shuttle mission STS-126.

The STS-124 mission was the second of three flights that will launch components to complete the Kibo laboratory. The mission included three spacewalks. The lab’s logistics module, which was installed in a temporary location during STS-123, was attached to the new lab.

STS-124 was the 26th shuttle mission to the International Space Station.

Navy Cmdr. Stephen G. Bowen was previously named to the STS-124 crew but was reassigned to STS-126. The change allowed room for the STS-124 mission to rotate a space station resident.

Featured Story

Retired Space Shuttle Locations

Shuttle Atlantis – Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex Shuttle Discovery – Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center Shuttle Endeavour – California Science…

Read the Story