Suggested Searches

Dr. Michael J. Dube

NASA Technical Fellow for Mechanical Systems

Dr. Dube currently serves as the NASA Technical Fellow for Mechanical Systems.

In 2004, Dr. Dube joined the Materials Engineering Branch in the Mechanical Systems Division of the Applied Engineering and Technology Directorate at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center where he served advising and troubleshooting lubrication and tribology related issues with space mechanisms.  He has over 20 years of experience within NASA, academia, and in private industry.  Before joining the NESC as the NASA Technical Fellow for Mechanical Systems, Dr. Dube served as the Discipline Deputy for the Mechanical Systems Technical Discipline Team where he served as an internationally recognized subject matter expert and Agency resource in the areas of tribology and lubrication of moving mechanical assemblies.  He has led numerous NESC assessments including the Reaction Wheel Assembly (RWA) failure investigating operational best practices promoting RWA life and restoring performance in anomalous RWA and the Solar Alpha Rotary Joint (SARJ) root cause investigation where he provided guidance and recommendations to International Space Station senior management regarding lubrication of port and starboard SARJs leading to successful restoration of SARJ performance.  He also served as the NESC technical lead for the NASA-STD-5020 “Requirements for Threaded Fastening Systems for Space Flight Hardware.”

Dr. Dube has authored or co-authored numerous publications in addition to serving as an invited speaker at several conferences.  He is the recipient of the Space Flight Awareness Award, the NASA Exceptional Engineering Achievement Medal, the Robert H. Goddard Award for Engineering Excellence, and the NESC Director’s Honor Award.  He is a member of the American Society for Testing & Materials (ASTM) Committee F34 (Tribology), the Society of Tribologists and Lubrication Engineers (STLE), and the American Chemical Society (ACS).  Dr. Dube received his Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry from Brown University in 1993 and his Bachelor of Science Degree in Chemistry from Southeastern Massachusetts University in 1987.