Mission Information


    STS123-S-007 -- STS-123 crew Image above: After suiting up, the STS-123 crew members pause alongside the Astrovan to wave farewell to onlookers before heading for launch pad 39A for the launch of space shuttle Endeavour on the STS-123 mission. From the right are Commander Dominic Gorie, Mission Specialist Garrett Reisman, Pilot Gregory H. Johnson and Mission Specialists Robert L. Behnken, Mike Foreman, Takao Doi and Rick Linnehan. Image credit: NASA

    A veteran space flier, Navy Capt. Dominic L. Gorie, commanded the STS-123 shuttle mission to deliver the Japanese Kibo Logistics Module and the Canadian Dextre robotics system to the International Space Station. Air Force Col. Gregory H. Johnson served as pilot. Mission specialists included Richard M. Linnehan, Air Force Maj. Robert L. Behnken, Navy Capt. Michael J. Foreman and Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency astronaut Takao Doi. STS-123 was the first spaceflight for Johnson, Behnken and Foreman.

    The mission delivered NASA astronaut Garrett Reisman to the station and returned European Space Agency astronaut LĂ©opold Eyharts to Earth.

    STS-123 was the 25th shuttle mission to the International Space Station.

    + Read the Jan. 29, 2007, press release
    + Read the Feb. 13, 2007, press release
    + Read the April 16, 2007, press release

Mission Information


    STS-123 crew insignia Launch:
    March 11, 2008
    2:28 a.m. EDT

    March 26, 2008
    8:39 p.m. EDT


    Mission Number:
    (122nd space shuttle flight)

    Launch Window:
    10 minutes

    Launch Pad:

    Mission Duration:
    15 days, 18 hours

    Landing Site:

    51.6 degrees/122 nautical miles

    Primary Payload:
    25th station flight (1J/A), Kibo Logistics Module, Dextre Robotics System

    + STS-123 Press Kit (PDF 4.4 Mb)
    + Mission Archives

Related Multimedia