Suggested Searches


To nominate a technology or software for these competitions contact the Awards Liaison Officer (ALO’) at your Center. They will inform you of the procedures for submitting a nomination and obtain the management and Center approvals needed to submit the nomination.

Engineers from NASA's Ames Research Center in Moffett Field, California, and NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Alabama, remove segments of a heat-resistant material called Avcoat from the surface of the Orion heat shield, the protective shell designed to help the next-generation crew module and its future occupants withstand the heat of atmospheric reentry. The work is being conducted in the seven-axis milling machine facility at Marshall.

Each submitted technology or software must document that it meets the criteria of being significant, scientific, technical, and aerospace in nature.

Completed nomination packages are submitted by the ALO to the Inventions and Contributions Board for review and scoring. The ICB then meets to hear presentations from the nominees and makes recommendations to the sponsors of the respective competitions. The sponsors then send their recommendations to the NASA Administrator for final approval and announcement of the winners.

Contact an Award Liaison Officer

Primary ALO
Kimberly Katina Minafra Ames Research Center 650.604.2457
Benjamin Tomlinson Armstrong Flight Research Center 661.276.2190
Terrence Garry (Public-facing POC) Armstrong Flight Research Center 661.276.3059
Kelly Sands Glenn Research Center 216.433.5906
Samantha Kilgore Goddard Space Flight Center 301.286.8994
Lisa Roberts Johnson Space Center 281.483.8619
Brian Morrison Jet Propulsion Laboratory 818.354.2458
Lynn Torres NOJMO 818.354.1685
Meredith Reeves Kennedy Space Center 321.861.8897
Jesse Midgett Langley Research Center 757.864.1664
Allison Chambers Marshall Space Flight Center 256.424.5222
John WolvertonStennis Space