Suggested Searches

STS-61B crew patch

STS 61-B crew insignia

S85-36635 (October 1985) --- This is the insignia designed by the STS-61B crew members to represent their November 1985 mission aboard the space shuttle Atlantis, depicted here in Earth orbit, making only its second spaceflight. The design is surrounded by the surnames of the seven crew members. They are astronauts Brewster Shaw Jr., commander; Bryan D. O'Conner, pilot; Mary L. Cleave, Jerry L. Ross and Sherwood C. Spring, all mission specialists; and payload specialists Charles D. Walker, representing McDonnell Douglas, and Rodolfo Neri, representing Morelos of Mexico (note flag). The NASA insignia design for space shuttle flights is reserved for use by the astronauts and for other official use as the NASA Administrator may authorize. Public availability has been approved only in the forms of illustrations by the various news media. When and if there is any change in this policy, which is not anticipated, the change will be publicly announced. Photo credit: NASA