Suggested Searches

Official photo of the 41-G crew

S84-37981 (20 July 1984) --- The space shuttle Challenger will carry these seven persons into space for NASA's STS-41G mission scheduled for October 1984. They are (bottom row, left to right) astronauts Jon A. McBride, pilot; and Sally K. Ride, Kathryn D. Sullivan and David C. Leestma -- all mission specialists. Astronaut Robert L. Crippen crew commander, is flanked by Paul D. Scully-Power and Marc Garneau, both payload specialists. Scully-Power is an oceanographer for the U.S. Navy and Garneau represents the National Research Council (Canada). The replica of a gold astronaut pin near McBride signifies unity. The group represents the largest space shuttle crew thus far. Photo credit: NASA