NASA Designated Countries List



The following countries and areas are designated as requiring additional guidance, review, and approval by NASA HQ due to concerns regarding potential technology transfer based either on a) technology transfer concerns by the Departments of Commerce and State; and/or b) other considerations such as political sensitivities. This list is a critical tool for ensuring NASA adherence with related requirements.

All Foreign National visitors require Center Export Administrator review and approval; in addition, Foreign National visitors to NASA born in, or citizens of, these countries or areas require review and approval by a NASA International Desk Officer and the Headquarters Export Administrator. Foreign National Visitors born in, or current citizens of, countries or areas designated by an "X" in Column II will generally be denied.

All NASA correspondence, including emails, to these countries or areas requires the concurrence of a NASA Center Export Administrator, in accordance with section 4.2 of NPR 1450.10E, NASA Correspondence Management and Communications Standards and Style.

Detailed descriptions of the NASA "Designated Country List" columns can be found in the key following the list.

ISO CODE	COUNTRY OR AREA	I	П	Ш	IV
BT	Bhutan	X			
TW	Taiwan*	X			

^{*}Although **Taiwan** is not recognized as a country by the U.S. Department of State, it is considered a separate destination under the Export Administration Regulations and also for the purposes of the NASA Designated Countries List. (see: 15 CFR Supplement No. 1 to Part 738 – Commerce Country Chart).

AF	Afghanistan	X		X	
ВН	Bahrain				X
BY	Belarus			X	X
MM	Burma (Myanmar)			X	
KH	Cambodia			X	
СТ	Central African Republic			X	
CN	China (including Hong Kong)			X	X
CD	Congo (Democratic Republic of)			X	
CU	Cuba		X	X	
EG	Egypt				X
ER	Eritrea			X	
ET	Ethiopia			X	
HT	Haiti			X	
IR	Iran	X	Χ	X	X
IQ	Iraq			X	X
IL	Israel				X
JO	Jordan				X
KP	Korea, North	X	X	X	Χ

June 30, 2025

100,000	COLINITAL OD ADEA	1	- 11	111	11.7
ISO CODE	COUNTRY OR AREA	l	II	III	IV
KW	Kuwait				X
LB	Lebanon			Χ	X
LY	Libya			Χ	Χ
МО	Macau				Χ
NI	Nicaragua			Χ	
OM	Oman				Χ
PK	Pakistan				X
QA	Qatar				Χ
SA	Saudi Arabia				Х
SO	Somalia			Χ	
SS	South Sudan (Republic of)			Χ	
SU	Sudan			Χ	
SY	Syria	X	X	Χ	Х
AE	United Arab Emirates				Χ
VE	Venezuela	X		Χ	Х
YE	Yemen				Х
ZW	Zimbabwe			Χ	

Note: Although listed in ITAR 126.1 and EAR Country Groups D:4 and D:5, Russia is excluded from the NASA Designated Country List to avoid disruptions to operational cooperative activities.

Key to Designated Status

The NASA "Designated Countries List" comprises countries and areas that:

I. Have no diplomatic relations with the United States;

II. are determined by Department of State to be "State Sponsors of Terrorism" or identified by the Department of Commerce as "Terrorist Supporting Countries" or under "Unilateral Embargo" (Department of State-State Sponsors of Terrorism or 15 CFR Supp. 1 to Part 740, Country Group E);

III. are determined by Department of State to be under a United States Arms Embargo (22 CFR §126.1 and 15 CFR Supp. 1 to Part 740, Country Group D:5); and/or

IV. are determined by Department of Commerce to be countries of Missile Technology Concern. (15 CFR Supplement 1 to Part 740, Country Group D:4).