Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center 2101 NASA Parkway Houston, TX 77058-3696



April 8, 2025

Reply to Attn of:

AL-25-024

TO:

Distribution

FROM:

AL/Deputy Chief Counsel, Acting

SUBJECT: Determination Regarding Attendance by NASA Employees at the RNASA

Awards Banquet and Stellar Awards Luncheon on April 25, 2025

On April 25, 2025, the Rotary National Award for Space Achievement (RNASA) Foundation will host its 37th annual awards banquet at the Hyatt Regency Houston in Houston, Texas. The banquet includes the presentation of RNASA's National Space Trophy and the Stellar Awards given to various individuals for accomplishments in spaceflight, engineering, science, management, and education. The awards banquet will begin with a reception at 6 p.m. followed by dinner and the awards ceremony at 7 p.m.

The RNASA Foundation, a nonprofit organization under 501(c)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code, was founded by the Space Center Rotary Club of Houston, Texas, in 1985 to recognize achievements in space and create greater public awareness of the benefits of space exploration and to recognize the people whose work in the field of space exploration has lasting impact and benefits. RNASA carries out its goal through organizing an annual awards banquet. RNASA does not employ registered lobbyists, and is a distinct organization from, and not controlled by, the Rotary Foundation of Rotary International. Its operations are conducted by a committee of individuals and the trophy winner is selected by a board of advisors composed of eminent individuals from government, industry, and media, including former winners.

The estimated value of the banquet, including all food and drinks, is approximately \$110 per person. Approximately 720 attendees are expected to attend this event. Attendees will have a diversity of views or interests and will include personnel from other federal agencies, Congressional members and staff, members of the media, academia, industry, and representatives from international partner organizations. Attendance at this event will allow NASA attendees to exchange information regarding various NASA programs with attendees from other organizations. RNASA is in control of the invitations and arrangements, including seating, for the event.

Additionally, on April 25th, Stellar Award nominees are invited to a luncheon hosted by RNASA at the Hilton Hotel in Nassau Bay, Texas. The estimated value of the lunch,

including all food and drinks, is approximately \$27 per person. Approximately 135 attendees are expected to attend the luncheon. Attendees will have a diversity of views or interests and will include personnel from other federal agencies, the media, academia, and industry. The Stellar Award nominees will receive a pen, book, and certificate with an expected value of \$20.

This event is of interest to NASA and will serve as a forum for facilitating the widest practicable dissemination of information concerning the Agency and its activities. This event will further agency programs or operations including promoting community relations and providing the opportunity for the exchange of views and information between leaders within the Agency and a variety of academic, business, and leaders within the community. I find that this event meets the requirements of a "widely attended gathering" as defined in 5 C.F.R. § 2635.204(g).

NASA employees who do not have a significant role in a matter affecting the interests of the sponsors may accept an invitation for free attendance for themselves and a guest, if applicable, to the events. In those circumstances, I find that the Agency's interest in attendance outweighs any concern that the individual may be, or may appear to be, improperly influenced in the performance of their duties.

NASA employees whose duties have a significant role in any matter affecting the interests of RNASA, such as procurement duties, program management, or negotiating a Space Act Agreement, should seek a separate determination from their local ethics counselor as to whether they may accept the invitation.



Cody L. Corley

AA/S. A. Koerner

AA/D. M. Shafer

AA/D. A. Terrier

AA/S. M. Castillo

AD/D. R. Mathis

AD/A. Sanchez

AH/D. P. Costello

AH4/Z. J. Holliday

AJ/R. M. Neal-Mujahid

AL/R. T. Suratt

BA/B. J. Niese

BA/E. J. Schell

CA/N. D. Knight

CA/K. N. Lindgren

CA/M. T. Vande Hei

CA8/E. J. Nelson

CB/J. M. Acaba

CB/S. Furukawa

CB/A. E. Mogensen

CB/L. S. Parmitano

CB/S. Walker

CB6/M. R. Barratt

CB6/M. M. Behnken

CB6/R. J. Bresnik

CB6/M. S. Dominick

CB6/T. C. Dyson

CB6/J. J. Epps

CB6/R. T. Hines

CB6/W. W. Hoburg

CB6/S. G. Love

CB6/N. A. Mann

CB6/J. U. Meir

CB6/J. Moghbeli

CB6/D. R. Pettit

CB6/K. H. Rubins

CB6/S. D. Tingle

CB6/S. L. Williams

CB6/B. E. Wilmore

CB6/S. D. Wilson

DA/L. E. Kearney

EA/G. J. Lebeau

EA/J. K. White

FA/M. R. Abbott

FA/H. E. Ridings

FA/J. S. Stich

GA/H. C. Hu

GA/D. W. Korth

IA/T. P. LeBlanc

IA/J. F. Skelton

JA/M. B. Schwartz

LA/G. S. Obert

LA/S. H. Schmidt

MA/C. Garcia-Galan

MA/J. B. Olansen

NA/W. J. Lyles

OA/D. E. Contella

OA/D. J. Weigel

OB/O. B. Abotteen

OD/D. H. Korth

OR/T. H. Braithwaite

OS/T. Nishikawa

OT/E. J. Van Der Wal

OU/V. G. Priotto

ER/S. E. Fredrickson

SA/M. A. Frieling

SA/T. A. Taddeo

SA/R. L. Tures

SA2/D. K. Baumann

SA2/K. D. Pickering

SD/V. C. Herod

UA/A. T. Hart

XA/D. C. Gaines

XA/B. A. Laws

XI/E. K. Stansbery

VA/R. S. Jones

ARC/E. L. Tu

AFRC/B. Flick

GRC/J. A. Kenyon

GSFC/M. Lysrup

HQ/BG/C. Hansen

HQ/J. E. Petro

HQ/V. E. Wyche

HQ/C. Swails

HQ/T. Carlson

HQ/S. Shinn

HQ/J. M. Seaton

HQ/J. W. Pellicciotti

HQ/J. D. Polk

HQ/K. Elliott

HO/K. Calvin

HQ/C. A. Weeden

HQ/I. Lan

HQ/E. Ho

HQ/K. Feldstein

HQ/M. Hone

HQ/D. Deneal

HQ/R. Pearce

HQ/L. Glaze

HQ/N. Fox

HQ/K. Bowersox

HQ/J. Montalbano

HQ/C. P. Turner

HQ/D. F. Mitchell

JPL/L. Leshin

KSC/R. DeLoach KSC/K. M. Manning LaRC/T. Dyal MSFC/J. Pelfrey SSC/J. W. Bailey WSTF/RA/M. A. Burke WSTF/RA/J. E. Noble