Glenn Welcomes Second Class of Inductees into Hall of Fame

On Sept. 14, the second class of nine exemplary honorees was inducted into the prestigious Glenn Research Center Hall of Fame. The event, held in the Mission Integration Center Auditorium at Lewis Field, was a highlight to a special anniversary year celebrating the center's decades of excellence and those who made significant contributions to that success over its 75-year history.

WKYC Channel 3 meteorologist Greg Dee returned to emcee the event. Deputy Center Director Dr. Marla Perez-Davis and NASA Chief Scientist Dr. Ellen Stofan provided accolades in their opening remarks. Stofan, who is the daughter of honoree Andy Stofan, shared her remarks in a video.

Perez-Davis congratulated the nine inductees, who she said represent a distinctive group of role models and leaders who inspire us all. Stofan affirmed, citing, "my dad's dedication to the center, love of the people and NASA's mission showed me the difference one person can make and put me on my own career path of dedication to this agency."

History Officer Anne Mills coordinated the event with the assistance of staff from the Office of Communications and External Relations and the Logistics and Technical Information Division. The ceremony included video tributes to each inductee and a plaque presented to the honoree or a representative.



GRC-2016-C-07070

Photo by Rami Daud

The 2016 Class of Glenn's Hall of Fame inductees standing, left to right: Dr. Bondurant; Stofan; Dr. Earls; Bruce Banks, a Dr. Kaufman colleague; and Gordon's sons Sheldon and Joel. Seated, left to right: Judy Szabo, Szabo's spouse; Dr. Reid, Dr. Resbotko; and Molly Nesham, McBride's daughter.

2016 Inductees

- Dr. Lynn Bondurant, Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics advocate and inspiring educator
- Dr. Julian Earls, former center director and health physics leader
- Sanford Gordon and Bonnie McBride, developers of industry transforming chemical equilibrium codes
- Dr. Harold Kaufman, trailblazer of ion propulsion
- Dr. Lonnie Reid, leader in compression research
- Dr. Eli Reshotko, luminary of boundary layer theory and research
- Andrew Stofan, former center director and champion of center revitalization
- Steve Szabo, leader in program management