## Center Establishes Hall of Fame; Inducts First Class



In recognition of those who built exemplary careers and contributed to NASA Glenn's success, six individuals and one group of researchers were inducted into the center's new Hall of Fame, Sept. 25.

The event was held at Lewis Field and featured remarks by Center Director Jim Free and NASA Chief Historian Dr. William Barry. WKYC meteorologist Greg Dee served as master of ceremonies.

"This inaugural induction opens the doors to what will be a monument of the highest honor to the pioneers, trail-blazers and champions who have come before us," said Free.

Continued on page 3

## Hall of Fame -

Continued from page 1

The first induction was held in celebration of the 100th anniversary of the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA), which became NASA in 1958. The ceremony included video tributes to each inductee and a presentation of plaques to honorees or a representative.

Kelly Gilkey, Fluid Physics and Transport Processes Branch, proudly watched inductee Dr. Simon Ostrach receive his recognition.

"This is a wonderful way to honor individuals who have truly left their mark on NASA and in their respective fields of study," said Gilkey. "Dr. Ostrach served as a mentor to me during my days as a student at Case Western Reserve University and he continues to be an inspiration. He and his fellow 'Giants of Heat Transfer' revolutionized our understanding of fluid flow and heat transfer in microgravity."

Prior to the inductee ceremony, 35 NACA retirees and their guests gathered at the Mission Integration Center (MIC) to attend a NACA reunion. Center Director Free welcomed the attendees and kicked off the event, which included speakers who provided overviews of aeronautics research and the Center's Master Plan, and a tour of the MIC. Barry presented a "NACA at 100" overview and Anne Mills, Glenn



Accepting on behalf of the inductees: standing, left to right: Don Pinkel (Pinkel); James Modarelli, III (Modarelli); David Silverstein (Dr. Silverstein); Robert Deissler (Dr. Deissler); Larry Ross (Lundin); sitting, left to right: Irene Geye (Sharp); Dr. Siegel (himself); Dr. Ostrach (himself); and June Bahan-Szucs (Easley).

history officer, previewed the center's upcoming 75th anniversary celebration activities.

Mills, on detail in the Office of Communications and External Relations (CP), was deputy project manager for Glenn's planning and execution of this year's NACA centennial and the center's 75th anniversary celebrations. She coordinated this event with assistance from CP and Logistics and Technical Information Division staff members.

The next Glenn Hall of Fame induction is planned for 2016 during

Glenn's 75th anniversary. Subsequent ceremonies will take place on milestone anniversaries.

By Doreen B. Zudell

## 2015 Inductees

Annie J. Easley, computer programmer and equal opportunity pioneer

Bruce T. Lundin, former center director and advocate for the NACA evolution as a space agency

James J. Modarelli, designer of the NASA insignia and outreach program

I. Irving Pinkel, leader in aerospace safety research

Edward "Ray" Sharp, first center director and champion of early center advocacy and growth

**Dr. Abraham "Abe" Silverstein**, former center director and architect of the early space program

"The Giants of Heat Transfer," Dr. Robert Deissler, Dr. Simon Ostrach and Dr. Robert Siegel, world-renown researchers whose theories transformed the body of knowledge of heat transfer.

For more information, visit http://go.nasa.gov/1GweHOg.



Several NACA retirees gathered in the MIC prior to the ceremony for a NACA reunion.