NASA Designated Countries List



This NASA list of "Designated Countries" is a compilation of countries and territories with which the United States:

- I) Has no diplomatic relations.
- II) Countries determined by Department of State to be "State Sponsors of Terrorism" or identified by the Department of Commerce as "Terrorist Supporting Countries,"
- III) Countries under Sanction or Embargo by the United States.
- IV) Countries of Missile Technology Concern.

All Foreign National visitors require Center Export Administrator review and approval; in addition, Foreign National visitors to NASA born in or citizens of these countries require review and approval by an Agency International Desk Officer and the Headquarters Export Administrator. All NASA mail to these countries requires the concurrence of a NASA Center Export Administrator, in accordance with NPR 1450.10D, NASA Correspondence Management and Communications Standards and Style, Appendix E. Foreign National Visitors who are currently citizens of, or born in, Countries Designated by an "X" in Column II will be denied, except in very particular circumstances.

DESIGNATED STATUS *

CODE	DESCRIPTION	I	II	III	IV
AF	Afghanistan			X	
ВН	Bahrain				Χ
BY	Belarus			Χ	Х
BT	Bhutan	Х			
MM	Burma (Now Myanmar)			Χ	
KH	Cambodia			Х	
CT	Central African Republic			Χ	
CN	China, Peoples Republic **			X	Х
CG	Congo (Formerly Zaire; Democratic Republic of)			Χ	
CU	Cuba		Х	X	
CY	Cyprus			Χ	
EG	Egypt				Х
ER	Eritrea			Χ	
HT	Haiti			X	
IR	Iran	Х	Х	Χ	Х
IQ	Iraq			Χ	Х
IL	Israel				Х
JO	Jordan				Х
KP	Korea, North	X	Х	Χ	Х
KW	Kuwait				Χ
LB	Lebanon			Χ	Х
LY	Libya			X	Х
OM	Oman				Х
PK	Pakistan				Х
QA	Qatar				Х
SA	Saudi Arabia				Х

December 11, 2023

CODE	DESCRIPTION	I	П	Ш	IV
SO	Somalia			Χ	
SS	South Sudan (Republic of)			Χ	
SU	Sudan			Χ	
SY	Syria		X	Χ	X
TW	Taiwan**	Χ			
AE	United Arab Emirates				X
VE	Venezuela			Χ	X
YE	Yemen				X
EH	Western Sahara	X			
ZW	Zimbabwe			Χ	

Reference: 22 CFR §126, as amended through 88 FR 85683(current as of December 11, 2023); 15 CFR 746, as amended through 88 FR 85479 (current as of December 11, 2023), and 15 CFR 740 Supplement No. 1 (current as of April 18, 2023) and https://www.state.gov/state-sponsors-of-terrorism/ (current as of July 19, 2023).

Key to Designated Status

- I. Countries with which the United States has no Diplomatic Relations
- II. Countries determined by the Department of State to support Terrorism (<u>Department of State-State Sponsors of Terrorism</u>) and (<u>15 CFR Supplement 1 to Part 740, Country Group E:1</u>), of the Export Administration Regulations, administered by the Bureau of Industry and Security, Department of Commerce.
- III. Countries under Sanction or Embargo by the United States (22 CFR §126.1 (d.1), (d.2), (f), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), (l), (m), (o), (r), (s), (t), (u), (v) and (w) (DDTC website Country Policies and Embargoes); and 15 CFR Part 746 -EAR Embargoes and Other Special Controls
- IV. Countries of Missile Technology Concern (<u>15 CFR Supplement 1 to Part 740, Country Group D:4</u>, of the Export Administration Regulations, administered by the Bureau of Industry and Security, Department of Commerce)

^{*}Note: Russia is being excluded from the Designated Country List despite being added to Country Group D:4 on February 24, 2020, and to §126.1 (I) to avoid disruptions to operational cooperative activities.

^{**}Note: Hong Kong and Macau have been removed as separate entities from the Commerce Country Chart, 15 CFR Supplement 1 to Part 738, and although listed separately in this list, Taiwan is not recognized as a country by the Department of State.