Text Size
July 31, 2014
NASA Hosts 3 p.m. EDT Teleconference with Mars 2020 Principal Investigators

NASA will host a teleconference at 3 p.m. EDT today with the principal investigators of the selected instruments that will fly aboard the agency’s Mars 2020 rover.

The agency announced at its headquarters in Washington that its next roving Mars laboratory will carry seven instruments that will conduct unprecedented science and exploration technology investigations on the Red Planet.

Principal Investigators:

- James Bell, Arizona State University in Phoenix.
- Roger Wiens, Los Alamos National Laboratory, New Mexico.
- Abigail Allwood, NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) in Pasadena, California. 
- Luther Beegle, JPL
- Michael Hecht, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge
- Jose Rodriguez-Manfredi, Centro de Astrobiologia, Instituto Nacional de Tecnica Aeroespacial, Spain.
- Svein-Erik Hamran, Forsvarets Forskning Institute, Norway.

NASA Headquarters participants are:

- Jim Green, director of Planetary Science
- Mitch Schulte, Mars 2020 program scientist
- Ken Farley, Mars 2020 project scientist, JPL

To participate by phone, reporters must contact Dwayne Brown at 202-358-1726 or dwayne.c.brown@nasa.gov and provide their media affiliation by 2:45 p.m. EDT.

Audio of the teleconference will be streamed live at:


For more information about NASA’s Mars 2020 mission, visit:



Dwayne Brown
Headquarters, Washington

NASA news releases and other information are available automatically by sending an e-mail message with the subject line subscribe to hqnews-request@newsletters.nasa.gov.
To unsubscribe from the list, send an e-mail message with the subject line unsubscribe to hqnews-request@newsletters.nasa.gov.


Image Token: 
Image Token: 
Page Last Updated: July 31st, 2014
Page Editor: Sonja Alexander