Text Size

Education and Public Outreach Committee

As part of restructuring the NASA Advisory Council (NAC) to align it more closely with key areas of importance to the agency’s future, NASA Administrator Charlie Bolden added four new committees to the council, including the Education and Public Outreach Committee. The newly formed committee supports the advisory needs of the NASA administrator, the Office of Education, the Office of Communications, and NASA mission directorates, as required. The committee’s scope includes all education and public outreach-related NASA programs, projects, activities and facilities.

The committee consists of leading authorities with relevant expertise drawn from industry, academia, independent researchers and government institutions. The committee is chaired by Lars Perkins, who also serves as a NASA Advisory Council member. Committee members are as follows:

Michael Bostick, Chief Executive Officer of Walden Media

Matthew Chamberlin, Founder of Clearcast Digital Media

Richard Garriott, Entrepreneur

Doug King, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Museum of Flight, Seattle, WA

Dwayne McCay, Provost and Executive Vice President at the Florida Institute of Technology

Pilar Montoya, Chief Executive Officer of the Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers, Inc.

Bill Nye, Scientist, Engineer, Comedian, Author, and Inventor

Dr. Scott Parazynski, Director of Business Development at Wyle Integrated Science & Engineering

Stephen Pearse, former Telecom CEO, Entrepreneur, and Director of Yucatan Rock Ventures

Peter Shankman, Founder of Help a Reporter Out (HARO)

The NASA Advisory Council provides the NASA administrator with counsel and advice on programs and issues of importance to the agency. The council consists of eight committees: Aeronautics; Audit, Finance and Analysis; Commercial Space; Education and Public Outreach; Human Exploration; Information Technology Infrastructure; Science; and Technology and Innovation. Each committee conducts sessions throughout the year in an effort to gain a broad understanding of current NASA issues and future mission implementation plans. The committees then bring their proposed observations, findings, and recommendations to the full council for deliberation and final decision on whether to send forward to the NASA administrator.