50th Anniversary Essay Competition Winners
NASA's Innovative Partnerships Program and the Office of Education are pleased to announce the winners of the NASA 50th Anniversary Essay Competition. The essay competition asked middle school and junior high students to write an essay of 500 words or less, in response to one of the following topics:
  • Describe how you benefit today in everyday life due to NASA aerospace technology and spinoffs from the last 50 years.
  • Describe, 50 years from now, how your everyday life may benefit from NASA's future aerospace technology.
› View Original Announcement

NASA received over 1,000 essays, from 37 states and 15 countries. The essays were evaluated by region, with judging in 10 regions supported by NASA's network of Space Grant Consortia in each state. Each region had a winner, and the top three were selected from the 10 regional winners. The winners of the competition are identified below along with their teachers. The three winning essays can be viewed by clicking on the name of the winning student.

"NASA is proud to recognize the winners of the 50th anniversary essay competition. This competition has generated excitement among the participating students as they learned about how America's space program impacts their lives in very powerful ways," NASA Deputy Administrator Shana Dale said. "The goal is to spark students' imagination in science, math, and engineering and I think we've achieved that goal with these exceptional students."

› View Press Release

First Prize
Jackson Warley
7th Grade, Renaissance Academy →  in Colorado Springs, Colorado
Teacher: Mr. Ron Hamilton
Prize: $5,000 College Scholarship and VIP trip for 4 to the STS-125 launch at the Kennedy Space Center
› View Pictures

Second Prize
Grace Nowadly
7th Grade, Berkeley Middle School →  in Williamsburg, Virginia
Teacher: Ms. Kathy Poe
Prize: $2,500 College Scholarship

Third Prize
Megha Subramanian
7th Grade, Hershey Middle School →  in Hershey, Pennsylvania
Teacher: Mrs. Stover
Prize: $1,000 College Scholarship
› View Pictures

Additional Regional Winners

Vy Hoang Duong
8th Grade, Mountain View Middle School in Beaverton, Oregon
Teacher: Mrs. Melissa Claar

Kyle Stai
7th Grade, Kaiserslautern Middle School in Kaiserslautern, Germany
Teacher: Ms. Tina Arceneaux

Yichuan Wang
8th Grade, Jefferson Middle School in Midland, Michigan
Teacher: Ms. Christie Gayheart

Pauline Chong
8th Grade, St. Mark's Lutheran School in Hacienda Heights, California
Teacher: Mrs. Lynn Saavedra

Kevin Pulone
8th Grade, Stambaugh Middle School in Auburndale, Florida
Teacher: Ms. Emily Huestis

Mary Beth Maggio
8th Grade, NSU Middle Lab School in Natchitoches, Louisiana
Teacher: Mrs. Mitchell

Max Yenter
Rosholt Middle School in Rosholt, Wisconsin
Teacher: Mrs. Cindy Byers