Text Size
Educators to Participate in NES Summer Research Experiences
June 25, 2012

NASA Explorer Schools, or NES, is committed to identifying educational best practices and recognizing innovative use of NASA educational content. Each year, a group of innovative teachers is invited to participate in special NASA research workshops to expand their science, technology, engineering and mathematics, or STEM, knowledge and provide collaborative networks with other motivated and exemplary educators.

NES has selected 50 middle and high school educators to participate in an all-expenses-paid summer research experience at one of NASA's field centers across the country. These educators showed exemplary educational practices using NES lessons and classroom resources and connected educational concepts to real-world situations demonstrating the importance of learning. By using NASA educational resources, the teachers were able to peak student interest in STEM. Working with their peers, families and community, they were able to leverage partnerships to support STEM opportunities.

During the research workshops, teachers will work side by side with NASA scientists and engineers to learn research techniques and identify connections to science, technology, engineering and mathematics. Teachers will be apply their new knowledge about STEM in their classrooms throughout the coming school year.

The research experiences include: "Extreme Green" at NASA's Glenn Research Center, Cleveland, Ohio; "Airborne Research Experience" at NASA's Dryden Flight Research Center, Palmdale, Calif.; "There Is More to Light Than Meets the Eye" in Baltimore, Md.; and "Atmospheric Science" at NASA's Langley Research Center in Hampton, Va.

Congratulations to the educators selected to attend the NES summer workshops:

James Arimond - YMCA Triad North
Tracey Barker - Wellington-Napoleon High School
Lanena Berry - Johnston Middle School
Kathy Biernat - St. Mary's Visitation School
Amanda Blough - Corpus Christi School
Claudia Cortez - Faulk Middle School
Rebecca Currier - Orleans Elementary School
Emily Diaz - Holy Angels School
Barbara Dire - Forest Heights Elementary School
Bethany Dixon - Western Sierra Collegiate Academy
Wendy Dlakic - Sleeping Giant Middle School
Kelly Duffy - Legacy Christian Academy
Amy Fetterhoff - Corpus Christi School
Ty Fredriks - Orcutt Academy High School
Penny Ghinaudo - Sam Houston High School
Barbara Gosney - Echo Mountain Elementary School
Catherine Grimes - Phoenix Ranch School
Debra Hardy - Krum High School
Michelle Harrison - Holly Grove Christian School
Kaci Heins - Northland Preparatory Academy
Denise Henggeler - Northeast Nodaway
Mary Inglish - Woodrow Wilson Middle School
Polly Jackson - Woodrow Wilson Middle School
Sue Jukosky - Indian River School
Joan Labay-Marquez - Curington Elementary School
Anita Lalaian - Woodrow Wilson Middle School
April Leachman - East Paulding Middle School
Sandi Lewis - Lake View Elementary School
Tamika Lowe - Forest Lake Elementary Technology Magnet School
Judith Lucas-Odom - Village at Chester Upland
Matthew Lund - Copper Hills High School
Deidre Mangin - Our Lady of Perpetual Help Catholic School
Marti Mauntel - Dubois Middle School
Cheryl May - Lebanon Middle School
Tamara McDonald - Longfellow Elementary School
Cheryl Milford - Holly Hill-Roberts Middle School
Danielle Miller - University High School
Lori Nash - Lake View Elementary School
Erica Navarre- - Hammond Eastside Elementary Magnet School
Kathy Osborne - University School Shaker Campus
Elizabeth Petry - Mack Benn, Jr. Elementary School
Diane Ripollone - Cardinal Gibbons High School
Marian Scullion - Forest Lake Elementary Technology Magnet School
Holley Sykes - Briarwood Elementary School
Stacy Tanaka - Gaspar de Portola Middle School
Elizabeth Thiel - Komachin Middle School
Diana Toro - Dr. Ramon E. Betances Elementary School
Vin Urbanowski - The Academy of Information Technology & Engineering
Erin Warrilow - Dresden Middle School
Rebecca Wood - Lebanon Middle School

› View Press Release

Image Token: 
Image Token: 
Page Last Updated: August 22nd, 2013
Page Editor: NASA Administrator