NASA Audio File

Text Size

Trio of Space Explorers Inducted into Astronaut Hall of Fame
On May 5, the 2012 U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame ceremony was held at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida. Franklin Chang-Díaz, Kevin Chilton and Charles Precourt joined an elite group of American space heroes when they were inducted into the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame. This is the eleventh group of space shuttle astronauts named to the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame, located at the Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex. Earlier inductees represent the Mercury, Gemini, Apollo, Skylab and Apollo-Soyuz programs.  The addition of Dr. Chang-Díaz, a veteran of seven space shuttle flights who has logged more than 1,601 hours in space; Gen. Chilton, the pilot on STS-49, space shuttle Endeavour's maiden voyage, and the commander of STS-76; and Col. Precourt, who served as a shuttle mission specialist, pilot and spacecraft commander, will bring the number of space explorers enshrined in the Hall of Fame to 82. Includes speech excerpts from all three inductees

Charles Precourt, 2012 Astronaut Hall of Fame Inductee

“A mere six years later, I find myself with a our Cold War warriors from the other side the Russians, and who have imagined that as a guy who used to be flying to defend ourselves from them, that we were collaborating in space a mere six years later.  It’s just a tremendous, tremendous change, and to be a part of that is extremely humbling.“
› Play Now

Franklin Chang-Diaz, 2012 Astronaut Hall of Fame Inductee

“I am actually today most thankful to this great nation that in 1968 opened the doors for me.  A dreamer that came to the shores of this country and this country opened the doors to the land of opportunity to the American dream.”
› Play Now