Follow this link to skip to                                      the main content


Text Size

Sites and Sounds of the Golden Record
NASA's twin Voyager spacecraft launched in August and September 1977. Aboard each spacecraft is a golden record, a collection of sites, sounds and greetings from Earth.

Golden Record Image right: The golden record. Image credit: NASA/JPL

Each identical golden record contains:

-- 117 pictures explaining Earth. This includes drawings and images that convey information about our solar system, images of people doing various activities and a variety of planets and animals, as well as scenes from around the world.

-- Greetings in 54 different human languages and greetings from humpback whales.

-- A selection of sounds from Earth. This ranges from natural sounds, like storms and volcanoes, to human-made noises such as trains, airplane and rocket take-offs, animals, tools being used, and a mother kissing a child.

Below are just a few of the sites and sounds on the records.


+ English -- "Hello from the children of planet Earth."

+ Hittite -- The message translated to English is "Hail."

+ Mandarin Chinese -- The message translated to English is "Hope everyone's well. We are thinking about you all. Please come here to visit when you have time."

+ Russian -- The message translated to English is "Greetings! I Welcome You!"

+ Spanish -- The message translated to English is "Hello and greetings to all."

+ Vietnamese -- The message translated to English is "Sincerely send you our friendly greetings."


+ Wild dog
+ Volcanoes, earthquake, thunder
+ Kiss, mother and child
+ Horse and cart
+ F-111 flyby, Saturn 5 rocket lift-off
+ Crickets, frogs


+ Larger view

drawing to show location of solar systemSolar system locator
+ Larger view

violin and musicViolin and music sheet
+ Larger view

For a fuller list of items on the golden records, click on the following links:
+ Scenes from Earth
+ Greetings
+ Music
+ Sounds