Mission Information

    STS-116 Crew
    STS116-S-002 : STS-116 crew

    Image above: These seven astronauts take a break from training to pose for the STS-116 crew portrait. Launched aboard the space shuttle Discovery are, front row (from the left), astronauts William A. Oefelein, pilot; Joan E. Higginbotham, mission specialist; and Mark L. Polansky, commander. On the back row (from the left) are astronauts Robert L. Curbeam, Nicholas J.M. Patrick, Sunita L. Williams and the European Space Agency's Christer Fuglesang, all mission specialists. Williams will join Expedition 14 in progress to serve as a flight engineer aboard the International Space Station. The crewmembers are attired in training versions of their shuttle launch and entry suits. Photo credit: NASA

Crew Profiles

Related Multimedia