Featured Images

Text Size

Hurricane Season 2012: Tropical Depression 05W (Western North Pacific Ocean)
06.11.12
 
MODIS captured this infrared image of Tropical Depression 05W soon after it formed. › View larger image
The MODIS instrument on NASA's Terra satellite captured this infrared image of Tropical Depression 05W in the western North Pacific Ocean on June 11, at 1222 UTC (8:22 a.m. EDT), soon after it formed. It revealed strong convection (rising air that forms the thunderstorms that make up a tropical cyclone) around the center.
Credit: NASA/NRL
NASA Sees Another New Tropical Depression Born in Western North Pacific

Tropical Depression 05W has been born in the western North Pacific, a couple of hundred miles south of Guam, and NASA's Terra satellite captured its "baby picture."

The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) instrument on NASA's Terra satellite captured an infrared image of Tropical Depression 05W in the western North Pacific Ocean on June 11, at 1222 UTC (8:22 a.m. EDT), soon after it formed. It revealed strong convection (rising air that forms the thunderstorms that make up a tropical cyclone) around the center. The center of circulation appears to be ill-defined on satellite imagery. There are bands of thunderstorms wrapping into the center, however.

At 1500 UTC (11 a.m. EDT) on June 11, Tropical Depression 05W (TD05W) had maximum sustained winds near 25 knots. It was centered about 220 nautical miles south of Guam, near 9.7 North and 144.5 East. It was moving to the west at 12 knots and after it passes Yap in a couple of days, is expected to turn west-northward.

Forecasters at the Joint Typhoon Warning Center expect that TD05W will slowly intensify as it continues westward.

Text Credit: Rob Gutro
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Md.