Featured Images

Text Size

Hurricane Season 2011: Tropical Depression 4E (East Pacific Ocean)
07.18.11
 
Tropical Depression 4E as taken from GOES-11 on July 18 shows the storm south of Guatemala. › View larger image
This visible image of Tropical Depression 4E was taken from the GOES-11 satellite on July 18 at 15:00 UTC (11:00 a.m. EDT/8 a.m. PDT) and shows the storm south of Guatemala.
Credit: NRL/NASA/NOAA GOES Project
GOES-11 Takes First "Baby Picture" of Fourth Eastern Pacific Tropical Depression

The fourth tropical depression of the Eastern Pacific ocean hurricane season was born today south of Guatemala in waters. Its baby picture was taken by the GOES-11 satellite, a veteran photographer of tropical cyclones.

The GOES-11 satellite monitors weather over the western U.S. took recorded the birth of Tropical Depression 4E (TD4E) today at 8 a.m. PDT (11 a.m. EDT).

TD4E was born about 265 miles southeast of San Salvador, El Salvadore, near 10.6 North and 91.5 West. It was moving to the west as 12 mph (19 kmh) and had maximum sustained winds near 35 mph (55 kmh). Minimum central pressure was 1006 millibars.

It looks like Mother Nature will soon give her newborn Tropical Depression a name as it strengthens into a tropical storm later today - as the forecasters at the National Hurricane Center noted that in the storm's "baby records." Once it matures, it will get the name Dora. In fact, Dora may grow up quickly and become a hurricane in the next day or two as conditions are right for her development and "personal growth."

Text credit:Rob Gutro, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Md.