Text Size

2011 Einstein Fellows Chosen
NASA has announced the selection of the 2011 Einstein Fellows who will conduct research related to NASA's Physics of the Cosmos program, which aims to expand our knowledge of the origin, evolution, and fate of the Universe.

The Einstein Fellowship provides support to the awardees for three years, and the Fellows may pursue their research at a host university or research center of their choosing in the United States. The new Fellows will begin their programs in the fall of 2011.

The new Einstein Fellows and their host institutions are listed below:

-- Akos Bogdan (Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory, Cambridge, Mass.)-- Samuel Gralla (University of Maryland, College Park, Md.)
-- Philip Hopkins (University of California at Berkeley)
-- Matthew Kunz (Princeton University, Princeton, N.J.)
-- Laura Lopez (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass.)
-- Amy Reines (National Radio Astronomy Observatory, Charlottesville, Virg.)
-- Rubens Reis (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor)
-- Ken Shen (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, Calif.)
-- Jennifer Siegal-Gaskins (California Institute of Technology, Pasadena)
-- Lorenzo Sironi (Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass.)

NASA has two other astrophysics theme-based fellowship programs: the Sagan Fellowship Program, which supports research into exoplanet exploration, and the Hubble Fellowship Program, which supports research into cosmic origins.

More information on the Einstein Fellowships can be found at:


Megan Watzke 617-496-7998
Chandra X-ray Center, Cambridge, Mass.