Text Size

GLAST's LAT Team Members Receive Award at NASA
On Friday, October 19, 2007, the Large Area Telescope (LAT) Project awarded certificates of appreciation to the 58 members of the LAT Environmental Test team, on behalf of the NASA Goddard Flight Center, Greenbelt, Md.

The 3000-kilogram LAT is the primary instrument for the Gamma-ray Large Area Space Telescope (GLAST) mission, and will detect gamma rays with unprecedented sensitivity, offering exceptional insight into the nature of dark matter, stellar evolution, and black holes.

Each team member received a personalized plaque in recognition of his or her "outstanding contribution and dedication to the successful development and testing of the GLAST Large Area Telescope," signed by Kevin Grady, GLAST Project Manager at Goddard.

Between May and September of 2006, the LAT Environmental Test team subjected the instrument to an exhaustive barrage of tests, ensuring it will survive the extreme temperatures and vibrations it will encounter during launch and in space. The team completed the tests within three days of the planned date.

"This is a tremendous success, considering the complexity of the instrument and the thorough nature of the testing," said LAT Project Manager Ken Fouts. The team often supported testing and operations seven days a week, twenty-four hours a day, both at the Naval Research Laboratory in Washington, D.C., and at the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC), Menlo Park, Calif.

"I'm very proud to be associated with this group," Fouts continued.

Persis Drell, who was Director of Particle and Particle Astrophysics at SLAC during testing, declared, "This is very well-deserved recognition. The Environmental Test team is incredibly dedicated, and they've done beautiful work."

GLAST is an international collaboration led by NASA and the U.S. Department of Energy, and is scheduled to launch from Kennedy Space Center in early 2008.

Image above: Members of the LAT Environmental Test team received plaques from the NASA Goddard Flight Center in Kavli Auditorium last Friday. Image Credit: Diana Rogers, SLAC
+ view high resolution image

Congratulations to the LAT team members recognized on Friday: Rich Baun, Rich Bielawski, Elliott Bloom, Anders Borgland, Rick Bright, Kelly Burlingham, John Canfield, Eric Charles, Ric Claus, Mike DeKlotz, Warren Focke, Ken Fouts, Mark Freytag, Gary Godfrey, Jack Goodman, Brian Grist, Gunther Haller, Philip Hart, Phuc Hoang, Dick Horn, Mike Huffer, Dave Kiehl, Lowell Klaisner, Martin Kocian, Bryson Lee, Shannon Leone, Y.C. Liew, Jeffrey Ludvik, Sergio Maldanado, Leo Manger, Lester Miller, Mark Molini, Dave Nelson, Albert Nguyen, Debbie Nicholson, Tom Nieland, Jim Panetta, Amadeo Perazzo, Linda Price, Brett Pugh, JJ Russell, Lupe Salgado, Leonid Sapozhnikov, Owen Saxton, Eric Siskind, Mutsumi Sugizaki, Matt Swift, Hiro Tajima, Gregg Thayer, Jeff Tice, Selim Tuvi, Diana Viera, Larry Wai, Tony Waite, Jeff Wang, Patrick Young, Eliazar Ortiz, Jana Thayer, John Ku, Pat Hascall, Mark Campell and Joe Cullinan.

Elizabeth Buchen
SLAC Today