News Releases

Joshua Buck
Headquarters, Washington     
Allard Beutel
Kennedy Space Center, Fla.
Andrea Farmer
Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex, Fla.
April 30, 2012
NASA TV to Air 2012 U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame Induction May 5
CAPE CANAVERAL, Fla. -- NASA Television will provide live coverage of the 2012 U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame induction ceremony at 3 p.m. EDT on Saturday, May 5. The ceremony will take place at NASA's Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex in Florida.

Joining the Hall of Fame this year are former astronauts Franklin Chang-Diaz, Kevin Chilton and Charles Precourt. Chang-Diaz, a veteran of seven space shuttle flights, has logged more than 1,601 hours in space. Chilton, the pilot on space shuttle Endeavour's maiden voyage in 1992, served as the commander of shuttle Atlantis' STS-76 mission to the Russian space station Mir in 1996. Precourt flew on four space shuttle missions from 1993 to 1998, three of which were to Mir. This will be the 11th group of space shuttle astronauts named to the Hall of Fame, bringing the total number of space explorers inducted to 82.

More than 28 Hall of Fame astronauts have accepted invitations to attend the ceremony, including Mercury astronaut Scott Carpenter, Apollo astronaut Walt Cunningham and space shuttle astronaut Bruce McCandless.

Reporters interested in covering the event should contact Andrea Farmer at 321-449-4318.

For more information about the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame, visit:

For NASA TV downlink information, schedules and links to streaming video, visit:


- end -

text-only version of this release

NASA press releases and other information are available automatically by sending a blank e-mail message to To unsubscribe from this mailing list, send a blank e-mail message to

Back to NASA Newsroom | Back to NASA Homepage