Michael Braukus
Headquarters, Washington
Feb. 23, 2010
RELEASE : 10-048
Restructured NASA Advisory Council Meets to Formulate Agency Guidance
WASHINGTON -- The newly restructured NASA Advisory Council recently concluded its second meeting, held Feb. 18-19, at NASA Headquarters in Washington. This was the first council meeting including all of the committee chairs and other appointed members, completing the restructuring process NASA Administrator Charles Bolden began in fall 2009.

The council provides advice and recommendations to the NASA administrator about agency programs, policies, plans, financial controls and other matters related to the agency's responsibilities.

"I'm very excited about the council's new structure," said NASA Advisory Council Chairman Kenneth M. Ford. "I have the greatest confidence that the committees will provide the full council with the best possible recommendations for Administrator Bolden's consideration."

The council and its nine committees meet on a quarterly basis throughout the year in public and fact-finding sessions. The committees are:

  • Aeronautics Committee: Marion Blakey, chair
  • Audit, Finance and Analysis Committee: Robert M. Hanisee, chair
  • Commercial Space Committee: Brett Alexander, chair
  • Education and Public Outreach Committee: Miles O'Brien, chair
  • Exploration Committee: Richard Kohrs, chair
  • Information Technology Infrastructure Committee: retired Air Force Lt. Gen. Albert Edmonds, chair
  • Science Committee: Wesley T. Huntress, Jr., chair
  • Space Operations Committee: retired Air Force Col. Eileen M. Collins, chair
  • Technology and Innovation Committee: Esther Dyson, chair
  • Ex-Officio Members: Charles Kennel, chair, Space Studies Board, National Academies, and Raymond Colladay, chair, Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board, National Academies

To learn more about the NASA Advisory Council and its committees, visit:



- end -

text-only version of this release

NASA press releases and other information are available automatically by sending a blank e-mail message to hqnews-subscribe@mediaservices.nasa.gov. To unsubscribe from this mailing list, send a blank e-mail message to hqnews-unsubscribe@mediaservices.nasa.gov.

Back to NASA Newsroom | Back to NASA Homepage