News Releases

Text Size

Michael Curie
Headquarters, Washington

Kylie Clem
Johnson Space Center, Houston

Feb. 11, 2008
RELEASE : 08-052
NASA Assigns Crews for STS-127 and Expedition 19 Missions
WASHINGTON - NASA has assigned crews for the STS-127 space shuttle mission and the Expedition 19 International Space Station mission. The STS-127 mission will deliver the final components of the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency's Kibo laboratory to the station. Expedition 19 will double the size of the resident crew on the complex, expanding it to six people.

Mark L. Polansky will command the shuttle Endeavour for STS-127, targeted to launch in 2009. Marine Corps Lt. Col. Douglas G. Hurley will serve as the pilot. Mission specialists are Navy Lt. Cmdr. Christopher J. Cassidy, Thomas H. Marshburn, David A. Wolf and Julie Payette, a Canadian Space Agency astronaut.

The mission will deliver Army Col. Timothy L. Kopra to the station to join Expedition 18 as a flight engineer and science officer and return Japanese astronaut Koichi Wakata to Earth. Hurley, Cassidy, Marshburn and Kopra will be making their first trips to space.

STS-127 will launch and install the Kibo Japanese Experiment Module Exposed Facility and Experiment Logistics Module Exposed Section. The facility will provide a type of "front porch" for experiments in the exposed environment, and a robotic arm that will be attached to the Kibo Pressurized Module and used to position experiments outside the station. The mission will include five spacewalks.

Polansky first flew as pilot of STS-98 in 2001 and then commanded STS-116 in 2006. He considers Edison, N.J., his hometown. Polansky has bachelor's and master's degrees from Purdue University.

Hurley considers Apalachin, N.Y., his hometown. He has a bachelor's from Tulane University, New Orleans.

Cassidy considers York, Maine, his hometown and has a bachelor's from the U.S. Naval Academy and a master's from Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

Born in Statesville, N.C., Marshburn has a bachelor's from Davidson College, Davidson, N.C., master's degrees from the University of Virginia and the University of Texas Medical Branch, and a doctorate of medicine from Wake Forest University.

A native of Indianapolis, Wolf will be making his fourth spaceflight. He first flew on STS-58 in 1993. He next flew a 128-day mission to the Russian space station Mir, launching aboard STS-86 in September 1997 and landing on STS-89 in January 1998. His third flight was on STS-112 in 2002. Wolf has a bachelor's from Purdue University and a doctorate of medicine from Indiana University.

Payette, born in Montreal, flew as a mission specialist on STS-96 in 1999. She has an International Baccalaureate from the United World College of the Atlantic in the United Kingdom, a bachelor's from McGill University and a master's from the University of Toronto.

Kopra is a native of Austin, Texas, and holds a bachelor's from the U.S. Military Academy and a master's from Georgia Institute of Technology.

Expedition 19 will be commanded by cosmonaut and Russian Air Force Col. Gennady Padalka. In March 2009, he will command the Soyuz spacecraft that will launch him and astronaut Michael R. Barratt to the station. Astronaut Nicole P. Stott will join them, arriving on the STS-128 shuttle mission to replace Kopra. She will serve as a flight engineer and science officer and return to Earth on the next Soyuz spacecraft. Barratt and Stott will be making their first trips to space.

In May 2009, cosmonaut and Russian Air Force Lt. Col. Yuri Lonchakov will command a Soyuz spacecraft that will launch to join Expedition 19 in progress on the station. With Lonchakov will be European Space Agency astronaut Frank De Winne of Belgium and Canadian Space Agency astronaut Robert B. Thirsk. Their arrival will expand the station's crew size to six for the first time. Lonchakov and De Winne will serve as flight engineers on the station and return on the Soyuz with Stott. Thirsk also will serve as a flight engineer and will return to Earth on STS-129.

Expedition 19 will include visits by two space shuttle missions that will equip the station with the additional facilities needed to support a six-person crew. Expedition 19 also will prepare the station for the later arrival of Russian research modules and additional docking ports.

Padalka commanded Expedition 26 on Mir in 1998 and 1999, and Expedition 9 on the ISS in 2004. He was born in Krasnodar, Russia, and graduated from Eisk Military Aviation College.

Barratt considers Camas, Wash., his hometown. He has a bachelor's from the University of Washington, a master's from Wright State University, Dayton, Ohio, and a doctorate of medicine from Northwestern University.

Stott considers Clearwater, Fla., her hometown. She has a bachelor's from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University and a master's from the University of Central Florida.

Lonchakov flew as a mission specialist on STS-100 in 2001. Born in Balkhash, Dzhezkazkansk Region, he graduated from the Orenburg Air Force Pilot School and the Zhukovski Air Force Academy.

De Winne flew an 11-day mission as a flight engineer on a Soyuz spacecraft to the International Space Station in 2002. He was born in Ghent, Belgium, and graduated from the Royal School of Cadets. He has a master's from the Royal Military Academy.

Thirsk flew on STS-78 in 1996. He was born in New Westminster, British Columbia, and has a bachelor's from the University of Calgary, masters' degrees from MIT and a doctorate of medicine from McGill University.

Backup expedition crew assignments also have been made. A summary of Expedition 19's assigned crews and backups are:

Gennady Padalka, Russian cosmonaut (Backup: Maxim Suraev)
Mike Barratt, NASA astronaut (Backup: Shannon Walker)
Timothy Kopra, NASA astronaut (Backup: Timothy J. Creamer)
Nicole Stott, NASA astronaut (Backup: Catherine Coleman)
Yuri Lonchakov, Russian cosmonaut (Backup: Dmitri Kondratyev)
Frank De Winne, ESA astronaut (Backup: Andre Kuipers)
Robert Thirsk, CSA Astronaut (Backup: Chris A. Hadfield)

Video of the STS-127 and Expedition 19 crew members will air on NASA TV's Video File at 7 p.m. EST. For downlink and scheduling information and links to streaming video, visit:

For complete astronaut biographical information, visit:

For more information about NASA's Space Shuttle Program, visit:

- end -

text-only version of this release

NASA press releases and other information are available automatically by sending a blank e-mail message to To unsubscribe from this mailing list, send a blank e-mail message to

Back to NASA Newsroom | Back to NASA Homepage