Follow this link to skip to                                      the main content


Text Size

Dwayne Brown
Headquarters, Washington
(Phone: 202/358-1726)

Debbie V. Nguyen
Johnson Space Center, Houston
(Phone: 281/483-5111)

May 11, 2005
NASA Announcing Newest Explorer Schools at Houston Event
NASA is announcing the 50 new schools joining a unique education partnership during a ceremony at 11 a.m. EDT, Tuesday, May 17, at Space Center Houston. The new partners debut as the 2005 class of NASA Explorer Schools (NES). The event will be carried live on NASA TV.

NASA's Chief Education Officer Dr. Adena Williams Loston and Astronauts Ellen Baker, Barbara Morgan and Franklin Chang-Diaz will participate. Media are invited to attend, and interview opportunities are available. Media planning to attend should contact the Johnson Space Center (JSC) Newsroom at: 281/483-5111 by 5 p.m. EDT, May 16.

The Explorer Schools Program is sponsored by NASA's Education Office in collaboration with the National Science Teachers Association. The program establishes a three-year partnership between NASA and the 50 Explorer Schools teams selected each spring. During the three-year partnership, the schools work with NASA to develop action plans for the classroom in addition to receiving $17,500 agency grants.

NASA TV is available on the Web and via satellite in the continental U.S. on AMC-6, Transponder 9C, C-Band, at 72 degrees west longitude. The frequency is 3880.0 MHz. Polarization is vertical, and audio is monaural at 6.80 MHz. It's available in Alaska and Hawaii on AMC-7, Transponder 18C, C-Band, at 137 degrees west longitude. The frequency is 4060.0 MHz. Polarization is vertical, and audio is monaural at 6.80 MHz. The event will be broadcast live on the Internet at:

For information about the NES Program on the Web, visit:


- end -

text-only version of this release

NASA press releases and other information are available automatically by sending a blank e-mail message to To unsubscribe from this mailing list, send a blank e-mail message to

Back to NASA Newsroom | Back to NASA Homepage