Follow this link to skip to                                      the main content


Text Size

Glenn Mahone/Bob Jacobs
Headquarters, Washington
(Phone: 202/358-1898/1600)
June 24, 2004
RELEASE : 04-203
NASA Transformation Structure Released
The following is a list of the Transformed Structure of NASA senior leadership. The purpose of the new organization structure is to develop clear and straightforward lines of responsibility. The new transformation chart is available on NASA's Internet homepage.

  • Sean O'Keefe
Deputy Administrator
  • Frederick D. Gregory
Chief of Staff
  • John D. Schumacher

Administrator Staff Offices
Chief Safety and Mission Assurance Officer
  • Bryan O'Connor
Chief Education Officer
  • Adena Loston
Associate Deputy Administrator for Systems Integration
  • Mary E. Kicza
Chief Scientist
  • John Grunsfeld
Chief Medical Officer
  • Richard S. Williams
Director of Advanced Planning
  • Charles Elachi
The mission areas are streamlined from seven Strategic Enterprises to four Mission Offices to achieve greater integration and support the Vision for Space Exploration.

Mission Offices
Exploration Systems Associate Administrator
  • Craig E. Steidle
Space Operations Associate Administrator
  • William F. Readdy
Science Associate Administrator
  • Alphonso V. Diaz
Science Deputy Associate Administrator
  • Ghassem R. Asrar
Aeronautics Research Associate Administrator
  • J. Victor Lebacqz
NASA functional offices are restructured as Mission Support Offices. Headquarters and field center offices will be aligned to improve communications and responsibility

Mission Support Offices

Chief Financial Officer
  • Gwendolyn Brown
    • Thomas Luedtke, Procurement

    • Ralph C. Thomas, Small & Disadvantaged Business Utilization
Chief Information Officer
  • Pat Dunnington
Chief Engineer
  • Theron Bradley
    • Walter Cantrell, Independent Technical Authority
Institutions and Management
  • James L. Jennings
    • Vicki A. Novak, Human Resources
    • Jeffrey E. Sutton, Institutional and Corporate Management
    • Dorothy Hayden-Watkins, Equal Opportunity Programs
    • David Saleeba, Security Management and Safeguards
General Counsel
  • Paul G. Pastorek
Chief of Strategic Communications
  • To Be Announced
    • C. Glenn Mahone, Public Affairs
    • D. Lee Forsgren, Legislative Affairs
    • Michael F. O'Brien, External Relations
NASA Center Directors

Johnson Space Center
  • Jefferson D. Howell, Jr.
  • Kennedy Space Center
  • James W. Kennedy
  • Marshall Space Flight Center
  • David A. King
  • Stennis Space Center
  • Admiral (Ret.) Thomas Q. Donaldson
  • Goddard Space Flight Center
  • Edward J. Weiler
  • Ames Research Center
  • G. Scott Hubbard
  • Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Charles Elachi
  • Langley Research Center
  • Roy D. Bridges
  • Glenn Research Center
  • Julian Earls
  • Dryden Flight Research Center
  • Kevin L. Petersen

    Additional presentation materials and a new NASA organization chart are available on the Internet at:


    - end -

    text-only version of this release

    NASA press releases and other information are available automatically by sending a blank e-mail message to To unsubscribe from this mailing list, send a blank e-mail message to

    Back to NASA Newsroom | Back to NASA Homepage