Follow this link to skip to                                      the main content


Text Size

Melissa Mathews
Headquarters, Washington
(Phone: 202/358-1272)

Andrea Farmer
Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex, Fla.
(Phone: 321/449-4318)

April 30, 2004
RELEASE : 04-146
Hall Of Fame Honors NASA Deputy Administrator
NASA's Deputy Administrator Frederick D. Gregory is one of five explorers being inducted into the Astronaut Hall of Fame. Gregory and the other inductees will be honored Saturday during a public ceremony at NASA's Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex, Fla.

As an astronaut, Gregory logged more than 455 hours in orbit on three missions from 1985 to 1991 as a Space Shuttle pilot and, twice, as Shuttle commander. He was the first African-American astronaut to command a Space Shuttle mission. He has served in a number of key NASA posts, including Associate Administrator for Safety and Mission Assurance and Associate Administrator for Space Flight. He became NASA's Deputy Administrator in 2002.

He is a graduate of the U.S. Air Force Academy, where he earned a Bachelor of Science degree. He earned a master's degree from George Washington University, Washington. Gregory served 30 years in the U.S. Air Force and retired as a Colonel in 1993.

"I am so proud of Fred and grateful for all the years of service he's given to this agency," said NASA Administrator Sean O'Keefe. "I congratulate him and his wife Barbara on this tremendous honor."

"The opportunity to serve this country as an astronaut has always been honor enough for me," Gregory said. "I appreciate the recognition from the Astronaut Hall of Fame, and I feel proud to be in the company of the other remarkable explorers being inducted this year."

Other inductees at Saturday's ceremony:

-- Kathryn D. Sullivan, Ph.D., was NASA's first female spacewalker in 1984. Sullivan also helped launch the Hubble Space Telescope in 1990.

-- Richard O. Covey, Col., USAF (Ret.). He was pilot of the first Space Shuttle return to flight mission in 1988 following the Challenger accident. He commanded the 1993 Hubble Space Telescope repair mission. He is leading the task group making an independent assessment of NASA's Return to Flight efforts.

-- Norman E. Thagard, M.D., the first American to live on Russia's Mir space station. He spent 115 days working on Mir in 1995.

-- Francis R. Scobee, commander of the 1986 Challenger mission that ended in disaster 73 seconds after liftoff. Scobee will be represented Saturday by his widow, June.

Gregory's full biography is available on the Internet at:

Biographical information on the Hall of Fame inductees is available on the Internet at:

With this year's inductees, the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame has honored 57 people. For information about the ceremony, contact Andrea Farmer at: 321/449-4318. For information on the Internet, visit:

The taped event will be broadcast on NASA TV at 1:30 p.m. EDT. NASA TV is available on AMC-9, transponder 9C, C-Band, located at 85 degrees west longitude. The frequency is 3880.0 MHz. Polarization is vertical, and audio is monaural at 6.80 MHz. For information about NASA TV on the Internet, visit:


- end -

text-only version of this release

NASA press releases and other information are available automatically by sending a blank e-mail message to To unsubscribe from this mailing list, send a blank e-mail message to

Back to NASA Newsroom | Back to NASA Homepage