Follow this link to skip to                                      the main content


Text Size

Dwayne Brown
Headquarters, Washington
(Phone: 202/358-1726)

Karen Rugg
Women in Aerospace, Alexandria, Va.
(Phone: 703/379-4345)

September 15, 2003
RELEASE : 03-296
NASA Trio Honored With Prestigious Aerospace Awards
NASA astronaut Barbara Morgan; Dr. Marla Perez-Davis of NASA's Glenn Research Center (GRC), Cleveland; and Dr. Andrea Donnellan of NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), Pasadena, Calif., will be honored Tuesday, September 16, 2003, for their outstanding achievements in aerospace technology, education and community outreach.

The awards will be officially presented to them and three other women during the 18th Annual Women in Aerospace (WIA) Award reception in the Rayburn House Office Building Foyer, Washington, from 6 to 8 p.m. EDT. WIA is a Washington-based, nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting the advancement of women in aerospace and related careers, in addition to recognizing achievements of outstanding women in aerospace. The trio was chosen by a WIA review committee from hundreds of nominations in an open solicitation.

"These valuable members of the NASA family are truly inspiring. They have gone above and beyond the call of duty in highlighting the advancement of women in aerospace fields. They're a reflection of the best and brightest at NASA, and I am proud to see them honored in this way," NASA Administrator Sean O'Keefe said.

Morgan will receive the Aerospace Educator Award for her pioneering work in integrating space research with classroom education. She is NASA's first Educator Astronaut and assigned as a crewmember on STS-118. Morgan was selected in 1985 as the backup candidate for the Teacher in Space program.

Following the Challenger accident, the program was suspended and Morgan worked with NASA's Education Office. Morgan met with teachers and students across the country to share her space-training experiences and their relevance to the classroom and America┬╣s future.

In 1986, Morgan returned to teaching at McCall-Donnelly Elementary School in Idaho, but continued to travel the country in support of NASA's education efforts. In 1998, she was selected by NASA to complete her astronaut training.

Perez-Davis will be the first recipient of the Aerospace Awareness Award. The award recognizes an individual's work to build public awareness of aerospace programs and increase public understanding of aerospace development and activities. Perez-Davis has also served as a role model and mentor to students of diverse backgrounds and races, from many nations.

She joined NASA in 1983 and serves as GRC Chief of the Electrochemistry Branch. She manages the research and technology workforce and efforts to carry out research and development, component design, cell fabrication, tests, advanced system conception, and preliminary evaluation related to electrochemical energy conversion and storage.

Donnellan will receive WIA's Outstanding Achievement Award for her accomplishments and contributions to aerospace science. She has continually demonstrated to the public the value of space technology for improving understanding of earthquake and volcanic hazards. Donnellan is a geophysicist and serves as JPL Deputy Division Manager of the Earth and Space Science Division; she also is a research professor at the University of Southern California in Los Angeles.

News media interested in attending the event and arranging interviews should contact NASA's Office of Public Affairs at: 202/358-1726.

For information about NASA on the Internet, visit:

For more information about Women in Aerospace, visit:


- end -

text-only version of this release

NASA press releases and other information are available automatically by sending a blank e-mail message to To unsubscribe from this mailing list, send a blank e-mail message to

Back to NASA Newsroom | Back to NASA Homepage