Follow this link to skip to                                      the main content


Text Size

Allard Beutel
Headquarters, Washington
(Phone: 202/358-4769)

James Hartsfield
Johnson Space Center, Houston
(Phone: 281/483-5111)

October 20, 2003
Space Station Crew Media Events
The two crews of astronauts and cosmonauts, sharing time aboard the International Space Station, will take questions from reporters Thursday, Oct. 23, at 11 a.m. EDT.

The space-to-ground news conference will last about 20 minutes. Because of limited time, only reporters at NASA's Johnson Space Center, Houston, NASA's Kennedy Space Center, Fla., and the Russian Mission Control Center near Moscow will be able to ask questions. The entire event will be carried live on NASA Television.

The event takes place during the crew transition on board the Space Station. The Expedition 7 crew, Russian cosmonaut Yuri Malenchenko and NASA astronaut Ed Lu, are handing over command of the Station to the Expedition 8 crew, NASA astronaut Michael Foale and cosmonaut Alexander Kaleri. Expedition 8 will spend approximately six months in orbit. Spanish astronaut Pedro Duque is also aboard the Station on a research mission for the European Space Agency. Duque made the outbound trip with Expedition 8 on Oct. 18 and will return to Earth with Expedition 7 on Oct. 27.

NASA TV will carry the official change-of-command ceremony Oct. 24. Live coverage begins at 2 p.m. EDT. These two events are part of the coverage of the Expedition 7/8 Space Station crew exchange. Coverage runs through Oct. 30.

NASA TV is available on AMC-9, transponder 9C, C-Band, located at 85 degrees west longitude. The frequency is 3880.0 MHz. Polarization is vertical, and audio is monaural at 6.80 MHz. For the full NASA TV schedule on the Internet, visit:


- end -

text-only version of this release

NASA press releases and other information are available automatically by sending a blank e-mail message to To unsubscribe from this mailing list, send a blank e-mail message to

Back to NASA Newsroom | Back to NASA Homepage