LOADING...
Oregon's Sunnyside Turnoff fire
Oregon's Sunnyside Turnoff Fire

NASA's Aqua satellite captured an image of smoke from northern Oregon's Sunnyside Turnoff Fire on July 25 as the satellite passed overhead in space.

The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) instrument that flies aboard Aqua captured an image of the smoke and heat from the Sunnyside Turnoff Fire on July 25 at 21:10 UTC (5:10 p.m. EDT/2:10 p.m. PDT). MODIS has the ability to detect hot spots or fires and they appear red in the image. 

The Incident Information System called InciWeb noted the Sunnyside Turnoff Fire had covered 48,916 acres by July 26, 2013. On that day, the fire was 40 percent contained. The fire is approximately 3-5 miles north of Warm Springs, Oregon. The Warm Springs area has been evacuated, and the Charley Canyon area is closed to the public. The fire was caused by man on Saturday, July 20.

Unlabeled image

Image: Jeff Schmaltz, NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response Team; Caption: Rob Gutro, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Page Last Updated: July 28th, 2013
Page Editor: Lynn Jenner