Search Marshall


News Releases

Text Size

NASA's Marshall Center Honors 245 for Individual and Group Achievements to Meet the Vision for Space Exploration
Angela Storey
Marshall Space Flight Center, Huntsville, Ala.
(Phone: 256.544.0034)

News release: 06-082

In a special ceremony today, NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Ala., recognized 245 employees and contractors who made important contributions to the nation's space program.

NASA Associate Administrator Rex Geveden, from NASA Headquarters in Washington, and Marshall Center Director David King made the presentations to civil servants and contractors. The awards were presented to individuals and groups for their achievements.

Four NASA employees received Presidential Rank Awards, honoring federal executives who have demonstrated strength, integrity, industry and commitment to the public trust. NASA Administrator Michael Griffin nominated the employees for the award, and a panel of private citizens evaluated the candidates. Only candidates whose personal conduct and results-oriented leadership distinguish them were selected for referral to the President of the United States, who made the final designation.

There are two categories for this award – Distinguished and Meritorious. NASA's Garry Lyles, formerly the manager of the Next Generation Launch Technology Program at the Marshall Center and now chief engineer with the Exploration Mission Systems Directorate at NASA Headquarters, received the Presidential Rank Award of Distinguished Executive for sustained extraordinary accomplishment. Honored with the Presidential Rank Award of Meritorious Executive for sustained accomplishment were Rex Geveden, the former Marshall Center deputy director; Christopher Singer, deputy director of Marshall's Engineering Directorate; and Jim Carter, director of the Office of Center Operations.

NASA's Exceptional Engineering Achievement Medal was presented to James L. Walker, an aerospace technologist with the Engineering Directorate, for his efforts to help return the space shuttle to flight.

Curtis W. Bahr, an engineering technician supporting Marshall's Engineering Directorate, received the Exceptional Bravery Medal for his quick response to a small explosion and fire in a Marshall laboratory last July. The medal recognizes individuals who, despite personal danger, act during an emergency to prevent the loss of human life or government property.

The One NASA "Center Best" Peer Award was presented to the development team for the Materials and Processes Technical Information System, or MAPTIS II, in the Engineering Directorate. Led by Michael A. Mitchell, the team developed an information system that provides centralized materials information for NASA flight hardware and programs.

NASA Outstanding Leadership Medals were awarded to seven Marshall employees: Mark E. Boudreax, William R. Humphries and Anthony T. Lyons of the Science & Mission Systems Office; Carl P. Jones and Melissa K. Van Dyke of the Engineering Directorate; Raymond G. Clinton, Jr. of the Safety & Mission Assurance Directorate; and David M. Martin of the Shuttle Propulsion Office.

Additional awards presented to Marshall employees and contractors included 24 Exceptional Service Medals, 26 Exceptional Achievement Medals and six Exceptional Public Service Medals. Numerous group awards and certificates of appreciation also were presented.

A complete list of award recipients is available at:

List of Award Recipients (PDF, 1.6 MB)