Search Marshall


Text Size

Link to Marshall Newsroom home page

For release: 05/05/04
Release #: 04-130  

Nine Marshall Space Flight Center employees selected for NASA fellowships

Nine employees at the Marshall Center have been selected for the 2004-2005 NASA Fellowship Program, and will participate in advanced studies at colleges and universities across the country. Selections were based on leadership and management ability, work experience and achievements.

Nine employees at NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Ala., have been selected for the 2004-2005 NASA Fellowship Program, to participate in advanced study at colleges and universities across the country.

They were chosen for their leadership, management ability, work experience and achievements. The program length varies from two weeks to one year of intensive study.

The fellowships are competitive, to ensure the most qualified candidates are selected for the right program at the right time in their career. The participants are expected to quickly apply their knowledge and share it when they return to NASA.

The nine Marshall Center employees are among a group of 35 chosen from NASA centers nationwide. They include:

  • Paul Gill, Engineering Systems Department, will participate in the Developing Managerial Effectiveness Program at Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Penn.

  • James McGroary, Office of Chief Counsel, was selected for the Harvard University Senior Executive Fellows program at Harvard University in Cambridge, Mass.

  • Michael Kynard, Space Shuttle Main Engine Project, will participate in the Senior Executive Seminar at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh.

  • Fred Bickley, Systems Engineering and Integration Office, was selected for the Sloan Fellows Program at Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge.

  • Shar Hendrick, Government and Community Relations Department, will participate in the Management Development Program at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, Mich.

  • Allen Elliott, Environmental Engineering Department, was selected for the Leading with Impact program at Pennsylvania State University in University Park.

  • Carolyn McMillan, Technology Transfer Department, will participate in the Strategic Leadership for Women program at Simmons College in Boston.

  • Elizabeth Paschall, Office of the Chief Information Officer, was selected for Creativity and Innovation in the Organization program at the University of California in Los Angeles.

  • Jose Matienzo, Exploration and Development Office, will participate in the Executive Development Institute (formerly the Program for Manager Development) at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, N.C.

The Marshall Center is a key leader in NASA's efforts in development of space transportation and propulsion systems and technologies, as well as microgravity research, advanced large optics manufacturing technology and manages all of the Space Shuttle's propulsion systems.

For more information:
News release

Martin Jensen
Public Affairs Office
(256) 544-0034

Graphic for line


Get releases sent directly to you!
Betty Humphery

Graphic for line