News and Events

Astronaut Camarda Visits Langley, Presents Silver Snoopy Awards
Langley Research Center Silver Snoopy award winners.Image Left: Langley employee winners of Silver Snoopy awards pose with astronaut Charlie Camarda (center). Winners include (from left), Russell "Buzz" Wincheski, Charlie Cockrell, Wallace Vaughn, Kenny Elliott, Scott Berry and Francis Greene. Not pictured in the photo: Luke Catella, David Hamilton, John McManamen and Ronald Penner. Photo by Paul Bagby.

"I am so happy to be back to what I consider to be my home," said Astronaut Charlie Camarda in the H.J.E. Reid Conference Center on Oct. 27. Camarda, a mission specialist on the recent STS-114 shuttle mission and a Langley Research Center employee for 22 years, was at Langley to share his shuttle experience and to present Silver Snoopy awards to 10 employees.

Camarda, clad in his blue astronaut jumpsuit, took the microphone and rained praise on many of the Langley employees and researchers that helped make his shuttle flight outstanding.

"There were a lot of success stories (from STS-114)," said Camarda. "As an engineer, I couldn’t have asked to be on a better flight."

The STS-114 mission was the first shuttle mission in over two-and-a-half years and lasted 14 days, from lift-off to touchdown. Many of Langley's technical discipline areas were tapped to safely return the Shuttle to flight, including aerodynamics, aerothermodynamics, structures and materials, systems analysis and engineering.

Following a short video highlighting his shuttle mission, Camarda helped in presenting the Silver Snoopy Awards. The Silver Snoopy is awarded to individuals for outstanding efforts that contribute to the success of human space flight missions. An astronaut always presents the Silver Snoopy because it is the astronauts' own award for outstanding performance. This coveted award is a sterling silver pin, which has flown aboard the Space Shuttle, in the form of Snoopy wearing a space helmet and space suit.

The Langley employees that were presented with Silver Snoopy awards are as follows:

Scott Berry - for his exceptional efforts in establishing and leading a team of technical experts from across the Agency, industry and academia to develop a critical boundary layer transition prediction tool to ensure the survival of the Shuttle Orbiter during re-entry with minor damage or after on-orbit thermal protection system repairs have been completed.

Luke Catella - for providing the innovative thinking and exceptional technical expertise required by the NASA Engineering & Safety Center (NESC) to develop a candidate technique for making natural like voids in the Sprayed on Foam Insulation of the Shuttle external tank.

Charlie Cockrell - for his efforts in developing the requirements to establish a state-of-the-art video teleconferencing facility to interface with the NASA Langley Research Center Mission Management Team in real time.

Kenny Elliott - for his outstanding leadership of a team of internationally recognized experts in the area of structural dynamics for the NESC in determining a method for using Space Shuttle Main Engine (SSME) test data to predict strains on an internal component of the SSME liquid hydrogen fuel flow liners.

Francis Greene - for his development of an extensive computational flight database and an associated analytic tool to rapidly/autonomously determine the local boundary layer conditions at thermal protection system damage or repair sites over the entire windward surface of the Shuttle Orbiter.

David Hamilton - for his critical guidance and technical support to all of the NESC activities involving the Space Shuttle and International Space Station (ISS) programs.

John McManamen - for his role in the assessment of Orbiter Rudder Speed brake and Body flap issues identified during the Return to Flight period.

Ronald Penner - for his role in developing and refining the design of an EVA-compatible drill set for a verifiable on-orbit repair of the Space Shuttle RCC leading edge.

Wallace Vaughn - for his significant contributions toward the development of new, practical repair approaches that should be verifiable on orbit and to the understanding of RCC aging.

Russell Wincheski - for his significant contributions toward the development of nondestructive eddy current techniques for critical components of the Space Shuttle Orbiter.

+ Return to Researcher News Homepage

The Researcher News
Langley Research Center
Managing Editor and Responsible NASA Official: H. Keith Henry
Editor and Curator: Patrick Lorentz