Kennedy News

Text Size


Jessica Rye                                                                                                                  April 21, 2004
Kennedy Space Center, Fla.
(Phone: 321/867-2468)

KSC Release No. 22-04

KSC Quality Assurance Specialist's Safety Efforts Lead To Prestigious "QASAR" Award

David Robertson, a quality assurance specialist in the Shuttle Processing Directorate at Kennedy Space Center, recently received NASA's prestigious Quality and Safety Achievement Recognition (QASAR) Award. Robertson was recognized April 14 during NASA's Continual Improvement and Reinvention Conference in Alexandria, Va. Safety and Mission Assurance Deputy Administrator Fred Gregory and Associate Administrator Bryan O'Connor made the presentation.

Robertson received the award for his work identifying an orbiter vehicle anomaly to the left Orbital Maneuvering System (OMS) pod to Shuttle Endeavor. During installation preparations, Robertson found a carrier panel incorrectly installed on the leading edge of the OMS pod deck. If not corrected, the situation may have negatively impacted flight hardware.

"Dave has continuously demonstrated his ability to identify flight hardware non-conforming conditions," said Robertson's supervisor, Robert Saulnier. "His initiative and dedication to the Space Shuttle program are characteristic of his commitment to quality and the safe and successful processing of the orbiter vehicles."

The QASAR Award is sponsored by NASA Headquarters' Office of Safety and Mission Assurance. This Agencywide award recognizes NASA employees and other government and prime subcontractor employees for significant quality improvements and safety initiatives.

"I felt proud that KSC was recognized for our excellent work," Robertson said. "Receiving this award exemplifies the professionalism of the Shuttle processing team."

QASAR Awards are presented quarterly at the Center level in four categories: NASA Safety and Mission Assurance, NASA Non-Safety and Mission Assurance, Government Non-NASA, and Contractor.

Annually, all QASAR honorees from the previous year are reviewed by a panel, and up to four from each Center are selected to receive the "Best of the Best" award. Those awardees are then eligible to be considered for the Agencywide QASAR "Best of the Best" award.

For more information on NASA's QASAR Award Recognition program, go to:


- end -

text-only version of this release

To receive status reports and news releases issued from the Kennedy Space Center Newsroom electronically, send a blank e-mail message to To unsubscribe, send a blank e-mail message to The system will confirm your request via e-mail.