Hall of Fame To Welcome Three Astronauts
George (Pinky) Nelson Image above: George "Pinky" Nelson flew three space shuttle missions, including STS-26. He also flew untethered in space using a Manned Maneuvering Unit. Photo credit: NASA
› View Hi-res Image
› View Nelson's NASA biography

Astronaut Bill Shepherd Image above: Bill Shepherd flew four times in space and served as the first commander of the International Space Station. Photo credit: NASA
› View Hi-Res Image
› View Shepherd's NASA biography

Astronaut Jim Wetherbee Image above: James Wetherbee flew in space six times between 1990 and 2002, including five missions as commander. Four of his flights went to a space station, twice to Mir and twice to the International Space Station. Photo credit: NASA
› View Hi-res Image
› View Wetherbee's NASA biography
NASA Television will provide live coverage of the 2009 U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame induction ceremony on Saturday, May 2, at 3 p.m. EDT. The ceremony will take place at NASA's Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex in Florida.

Joining the hall of fame this year are former astronauts George "Pinky" Nelson, one of only four space shuttle astronauts to fly untethered in space using NASA's Manned Maneuvering Unit; William Shepherd, commander of the first crew to live aboard the International Space Station; and Jim Wetherbee, commander of the longest docked shuttle-Mir mission.

CNN reporter John Zarrella will host the event. More than 20 hall of fame astronauts are expected to attend, including Scott Carpenter, Walt Cunningham, Jim Lovell and Bob Crippen.

Watch ceremony on NASA TV at 3 p.m. Saturday

NASA's John F. Kennedy Space Center