Search Johnson



Text Size

December 1, 2003

Allard Beutel
Headquarters, Washington

Dave Drachlis
Stafford-Covey Task Group, Houston

Eileen Hawley
Johnson Space Center, Houston


Return to Flight Task Group Public Meeting Announced

The Stafford-Covey Return to Flight Task Group will hold its second public meeting at 9 a.m. CST, Thursday, Dec. 11, in the Hilton NASA Clear Lake, 3000 NASA Road 1, Houston.

A press conference follows the meeting at NASA's Johnson Space Center (JSC) at 11:30 a.m. CST. The press conference will be carried live on NASA TV with questions taken only from media at JSC. Reporters who want to participate should contact the JSC Public Affairs Office at: 281/483-5111 by 3 p.m. CST, Dec. 9, 2003, for accreditation.

Press conference participants: Return to Flight Task Group Co-Chairman Richard O. Covey; Technical Panel Chairman Joseph Cuzzupoli; Management Panel Chairman Dr. Daniel L. Crippen; and Operations Panel Chairman Col. James C. Adamson.

The Task Group was chartered by NASA to perform an independent assessment of the agency's implementation of the Columbia Accident Investigation Board recommendations. The group is co-chaired by Covey, a former Space Shuttle commander, and retired U.S. Air Force Lieutenant General, and Apollo commander, Thomas P. Stafford. Information about the Task Group is available on the Internet at:

NASA Television is available on AMC-9, transponder 9C, C-Band, located at 85 degrees west longitude. The frequency is 3880.0 MHz. Polarization is vertical, and audio is monaural at 6.80 MHz.

- end -

text-only version of this release