Search Johnson



Text Size

December 12, 2002

Kyle Herring
Headquarters, Washington

Doug Peterson
Johnson Space Center, Houston

Release: #H02-249

Astronauts Named for Future Space Station Missions

Crews have been assigned to begin training for three International Space Station missions. The missions, scheduled for late 2003 and early 2004, will continue Station assembly and rotate expedition crews.

STS-118, with a six-member crew, is slated for launch in November 2003. STS-119 will follow with 10 crewmembers, including Expedition Nine traveling to the Station and Expedition Eight returning to Earth.

STS-120, scheduled for launch in early 2004, has six crewmembers that will deliver the U.S. Node Two, marking completion of the U.S. Core assembly.

Scott J. Kelly (Cmdr., USN) will command the crew of STS-118, and Charles O. Hobaugh (Lt. Col., USMC) will be the pilot. Veteran astronauts Scott E. Parazynski (M.D.) and Dafydd (Dave) R. Williams (M.D., Canadian Space Agency) will be returning to space for their fifth and second missions, respectively. Barbara R. Morgan, the first Educator Astronaut, and Lisa M. Nowak (Cmdr., USN) round out the crew as mission specialists.

Kelly made his first flight aboard STS-103 in 1999 as the pilot, and he trained as a backup flight engineer for Expedition Five. Hobaugh served as the pilot on STS-104 in 2001. Parazynski's previous missions are STS-66 in 1994, STS-86 in 1997, STS-95 in 1998, and STS-100 in 2001. Williams flew aboard STS- 90 in 1998. Morgan and Nowak will make their first trips into space.

Veteran mission commander Steven W. Lindsey (Col., USAF) leads STS-119. The mission's pilot will be Mark E. Kelly (Cmdr., USN) with mission specialists Michael L. Gernhardt (Ph.D.) and Carlos I. Noriega (Lt. Col., USMC, ret.).

Lindsey flew as the pilot on STS-87 in 1997 and STS-95 in 1998, and as mission commander aboard STS-104 in 2001. Kelly will be on his second Shuttle mission, having flown on STS-108 in 2001. Gernhardt will make his fifth mission to space. He served as a mission specialist on STS-69 in 1995, STS-83 in 1997, STS-94 in 1997, and STS-104 in 2001. Noriega was a mission specialist on STS-84 in 1997 and STS-97 in 2000, and he trained as the backup commander for Expedition Six.

Expedition Eight commander C. Michael Foale (Ph.D.), flight engineers William S. McArthur (Col., USA, ret.) and cosmonaut Valery I. Tokarev (Col., Russian Air Force), will return from their stay aboard the Station.

Expedition Nine, Station commander Gennadi I. Padalka (Col., Russian Air Force), flight engineers E. Michael Fincke (Lt. Col., USAF) and cosmonaut Oleg D. Kononenko will travel to their home in space aboard STS-119.

STS-120 will have veteran commander James D. Halsell (Col., USAF), returning from Kennedy Space Center, leading the mission, and first-time flyer Alan G. Poindexter (Cmdr., USN) as pilot. Wendy B. Lawrence (Capt., USN), Piers J. Sellers (Ph.D.), Stephanie D. Wilson and Michael J. Foreman (Capt., USN) will serve as mission specialists.

Halsell was the pilot for STS-65 in 1994 and STS-74 in 1995, and mission commander for STS-83 in 1997, STS-94 in 1997, and STS-101 in 2000. Poindexter is a member of the 1998 class of astronauts. Lawrence previously flew aboard STS-67 in 1995, STS-86 in 1997, and STS-91 in 1998, while Sellers has one previous flight, STS-112, earlier this year. Wilson and Foreman will make their first trips into space.

For complete biographical information on the STS-118, STS-119, STS-120, Expedition Eight and Nine crews, and other active astronauts, see the NASA Internet biography page:

For information about current and former astronauts, visit the Astronaut Biography page:


- end -

text-only version of this release