Search Johnson



Text Size


June 1, 2001

Eileen Hawley

Release: J01-59

Astronaut James Reilly to Become Honorary U.S. Marshal

Astronaut James Reilly will become only the seventh person named an Honorary U.S. Marshal in a swearing-in ceremony at NASA's Johnson Space Center, Houston, TX, at 9 a.m. June 4 in the Space Vehicle Mockup Facility (Building 9).

Reilly is a mission specialist for the upcoming STS-104 space shuttle mission and a former keynote speaker at three Marshals Service management training conferences. He will be the first U.S. Marshal in space.

Marshals Service Acting Director Louie McKinney will perform the ceremony and issue the oath of office to Reilly. Other Honorary U.S. Marshals include President Ronald Reagan, actor James Arness, Sen. Robert Dole, Sen. John Warner, entertainer Bob Hope and Sony Music executive Tommy Mottola.

Media representatives wishing to cover the ceremony and following short photo opportunity must notify the JSC newsroom before 5 p.m., Friday, June 1, for accreditation and badging.


- end -

text-only version of this release