Search Johnson



Text Size


January 4, 2001

Linda Matthews-Schmidt
Johnson Space Center, Houston, TX

Release: J01-02

NASA/JSC Special Event Features STS-97 Astronauts

The public is invited to share in the excitement of the latest Shuttle mission to the International Space Station, when the five-member, STS-97 crew discusses its 12-day flight at 6:30 p.m. January 11 at Space Center Houston.

In a special ceremony in Space Center Houston’s IMAX Theater, the astronauts will receive their NASA Space Flight Medals, and other space workers will be recognized with awards from Johnson Space Center Director George W.S. Abbey. The Endeavour crew will narrate a slide show and video presentation highlighting its mission.

During the flight, the STS-97 crew--Commander Brent W. Jett; Pilot Michael J. Bloomfield; with Mission Specialists Carlos I. Noriega, Joseph R. Tanner, and Canadian Space Agency Astronaut Marc Garneau--installed the first set of U.S. solar arrays, performed three space walks, delivered supplies and equipment and became the first shuttle crew to visit the station’s first resident crew. The work performed by the STS-97 crew sets the stage for the installation of the station’s next major component, the U.S. Laboratory “Destiny,” later this month.

The event, sponsored by NASA's Johnson Space Center, begins promptly at 6:30 p.m., is free of charge and open to the public. Due to limited seating and first-come, first-served admission, visitors should plan to arrive early as Space Center Houston doors open at 6:00 p.m.


- end -

text-only version of this release