Search Johnson



Text Size


November 17, 2000

Linda Matthews-Schmidt
Johnson Space Center, Houston, TX

Release: J00-77


The public is invited to share in the excitement of the recently completed Shuttle mission to the International Space Station when the seven member STS-92 crew shares its flight memories at 6:30 p.m. November 27 at Space Center Houston.

In a special ceremony in Space Center Houston’s IMAX Theater, the astronauts will receive their Space Flight Medals, and other space workers will be recognized with awards from Johnson Space Center Director George W.S. Abbey. The Discovery crew will narrate a slide show presentation and video about their mission.

During their 12-day flight, the STS-92 crew -- Commander Brian Duffy, Pilot Pamela Ann Melroy, along with Mission Specialists Leroy Chiao, Michael E. Lopez-Alegria, William S “Bill” McArthur, Jr., Peter J.K. “Jeff” Wisoff, and Koichi Wakata of NASDA – successfully installed the Z1 truss, paving the way for installation of the U.S.-provided solar arrays in December, and attached a new shuttle docking port. Chiao, Lopez-Alegria, McArthur, and Wisoff spent 27 hours and 19 minutes conducting space walks during the on-orbit construction.

The STS-92 event, sponsored by NASA's Johnson Space Center, begins promptly at 6:30 p.m. and is free of charge. Due to limited seating and first-come, first-served admission, visitors should arrive at Space Center Houston beginning at 6:00 p.m.


- end -

text-only version of this release