Search Johnson



Text Size


April 20, 2000

Eileen Hawley
Johnson Space Center
Houston, TX

Release: J00-26

Note to Editors: Media Invited to Join in Public Celebration of Ten Years of the Hubble Space Telescope

Media are invited to join Johnson Space Center employees, local civic and educational leaders and the public in celebrating a decade of discovery made possible by the Hubble Space Telescope.

JSC will celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Hubble Space Telescope with a series of discussions focusing on the human side of this technological marvel April 25 at the Johnson Space Center in Houston.

Events begin at 12:30 p.m. in the Teague Auditorium at JSC with a welcoming statement from NASA Administrator Daniel S. Goldin, Joseph H. Rothenberg, Associate Administrator for Space Flight, Ed Weiler, Associate Administrator for Space Science, and Johnson Space Center Director George W. S. Abbey. Discussion panels with astronauts and scientists associated with the Hubble Space Telescope Missions, will follow. Lockheed Martin, manufacturer of the Hubble Space Telescope, will host a reception beginning at 5 p.m. in the lobby of Teague Auditorium.

Media wishing to cover this event should notify the JSC Newsroom by noon Monday, April 24 to arrange for accreditation and camera location.

The flagship of NASA’s Great Observatories, the Hubble Space Telescope has provided the deepest views ever made of the visible universe and dramatically changed our understanding of black holes, planet formation and the ultimate fate of the universe.

The exact schedule of events follows. All activities take place in Teague Auditorium.


12:30 pm Event Opening Mr. Milt Heflin, Mission Operations Directorate 12:40 pm Welcoming Remarks Mr. George W.S. Abbey, Director, Johnson Space Center

12:50pm Reflections on Hubble Space Telescope Mr. Daniel S. Goldin, Administrator, NASA Mr. Joseph H. Rothenberg, Associate Administrator, Office of Space Flight Dr. Edward J. Weiler, Associate Administrator, Office of Space Science 1:20 pm Question & Answer Opportunity 1:30 pm Astronaut Panel Discussion Steven A. Hawley, Mission Specialist STS-31, STS-82 Kenneth D. Bowersox, Pilot STS-61, Commander STS-82 Steven L. Smith, Mission Specialist, STS-82, STS-103 Joseph R. Tanner, Mission Specialist, STS-82 John M. Grunsfeld, Mission Specialist, STS-103 Michael C. Foale, Mission Specialist, STS-103 2:15 pm Question & Answer Opportunity

2:30 p.m. Science Panel Discussion Dr. Mario Livio, Beauty in Physics and the Accelerating Universe Dr. Wendy Freedman, The Age of the Universe Dr. John Bahcall, Recent Results from Hubble Space Telescope Dr. Steven Beckwith, Young Stars and Planets

4:45 p.m. Question & Answer Opportunity

5 p.m. Reception hosted by Lockheed Martin


- end -

text-only version of this release