Search Johnson


Text Size


Kyle Herring October 25, 1995

RELEASE: 95-065


The second of several groups of prospective astronauts will be at NASA's Johnson Space Center (JSC) the week of October 29 for orientation, interviews, and medical evaluations.

The second group of 20 includes Robert J. Alvarez, Albuquerque, NM; Jerome L. Elkind, Ph.D., Houston, TX; Dean B. Eppler, Ph.D., Houston, TX; Deidra K. Fuller, Great Falls, MT; Joan E. Higginbotham, Titusville, FL; Mark E. Kelly (Lieutenant, USN), Lexington Park, MD; Christopher J. Loria (Captain, USMC), Patuxent River, MD; Michael J. Massimino, Ph.D., Dunwoody, GA; Lee M. Morin (Commander, USN), Pensacola, FL; Stephen D. Nordel (Lt. Cdr., USN), Piney Point, MD; Lisa M. Nowak (Lt. Cdr., USN), Lexington Park, MD; Mark L. Polansky, Houston, TX; Brian A. Simpson (Captain, USAF), Niceville, FL; Heidemarie M. Stefanyshyn-Piper (Lieutenant, USN), Rockville, MD; Mark W. Stephenson (Major, USA), Houston, TX; S. Alan Stern, Ph.D., Louisville, CO; Nigel J. Sutton (Lieutenant, USN), Lexington Park, MD; Daniel M. Tani, Centreville, VA; Scott D. Vangen, Cocoa Beach, FL; and Donald S. Watrous (Major, USAF), Niceville, FL.

Astronaut candidate selections are conducted approximately every 2 years. The number of candidates selected depends upon the Space Shuttle flight rate, overall program requirements, and astronaut attrition.

* * *


- end -

text-only version of this release