Search Johnson


Text Size

James Hartsfield

RELEASE: 94-059 August 31, 1994


Flight control for STS-64, the 19th flight of Discovery, will follow the procedures and traditions common to U.S. manned space flights since 1965, when the Mission Control Center (MCC) was first used.

The responsibility for Shuttle operations will revert to the MCC, Houston, once Discovery's two solid rocket boosters ignite. Mission support in the MCC will begin 5 hours prior to launch and continue through landing.

The primary objectives of STS-64 are the first orbital operations of the Lidar in Space Technology Experiment (LITE-1) and the operation of the Shuttle Pointed Autonomous Research Tool for Astronomy 201 (SPARTAN 201).

The Space Shuttle orbiter's operations will be conducted from Flight Control Room One (FCR-1) on the second floor of the MCC, located in Bldg. 30 at the Johnson Space Center. Voice communications with the Orbiter will be as standard from the MCC using the call signs "Houston" and "Discovery."

The teams of MCC flight controllers will alternate shifts in the control center and in nearby analysis and support facilities. The handover between each team takes about an hour and allows each flight controller to brief his or her replacement on developments during the previous two shifts.

The MCC flight control teams for this mission will be referred to as the Ascent/Entry Team, the Orbit 1 Team, Orbit 2 Team and the Planning Team. The Ascent/Entry Teams and the Orbit 1 Team will be led by Flight Director Wayne Hale. The Orbit 2 shift will be conducted by Lead STS-64 Flight Director Al Pennington. The Planning Team will be led by Flight Director Bill Reeves.



The flight control positions in the MCC, and their responsibilities, are:

Flight Director (FLIGHT)

Has overall responsibility for the conduct of the mission.

Spacecraft Communicator (CAPCOM)

By tradition an astronaut; responsible for all voice contact with the flight crew.

Flight Activities Officer (FAO)

Responsible for procedures and crew timelines; provides expertise on flight documentation and checklists; prepares messages and maintains all teleprinter and/or Text and Graphics System traffic to the vehicle.

Integrated Communications Officer (INCO)

Responsible for all Orbiter data, voice and video communications systems; monitors the telemetry link between the vehicle and the ground; oversees the uplink command and control processes.

Flight Dynamics Officer (FDO)

Responsible for monitoring vehicle performance during the powered flight phase and assessing abort modes; calculating orbital maneuvers and resulting trajectories; and monitoring vehicle flight profile and energy levels during reentry.

Trajectory Officer (TRAJECTORY)

Also known as "TRAJ," this operator aids the FDO during dynamic flight phases and is responsible for maintaining the trajectory processors in the MCC and for trajectory inputs made to the Mission Operations Computer.

Guidance, Navigation & Control Systems Engineer (GNC)

Responsible for all inertial navigational systems hardware such as star trackers, radar altimeters and the inertial measurement units; monitors radio navigation and digital autopilot hardware systems.

Guidance & Procedures Officer (GPO)

Responsible for the onboard navigation software and for maintenance of the Orbiter's navigation state, known as the state vector. Also responsible for monitoring crew vehicle control during ascent, entry, or rendezvous.

Rendezvous Guidance and Procedures Officer (RENDEZVOUS)

The RENDEZVOUS GPO is a specialist who monitors onboard navigation of the Orbiter during rendezvous and proximity operations.

Environmental Engineer & Consumables Manager (EECOM)

Responsible for all life support systems, cabin pressure, thermal control and supply and waste water management; manages consumables such as oxygen and hydrogen.

Electrical Generation and Illumination Officer (EGIL)

Responsible for power management, fuel cell operation, vehicle lighting and the master caution and warning system.

Payloads Officer (PAYLOADS)

Coordinates all payload activities; serves as principal interface with remote payload operations facilities.

Data Processing Systems Engineer (DPS)

Responsible for all onboard mass memory and data processing hardware; monitors primary and backup flight software systems; manages operating routines and multi-computer configurations.

Propulsion Engineer (PROP)

Manages the reaction control and orbital maneuvering thrusters during all phases of flight; monitors fuel usage and storage tank status; calculates optimal sequences for thruster firings.

Booster Systems Engineer (BOOSTER)

Monitors main engine and solid rocket booster performance during ascent phase.

Ground Controller (GC)

Coordinates operation of ground stations and other elements of worldwide space tracking and data network; responsible for MCC computer support and displays.

Maintenance, Mechanical, Arm & Crew Systems (MMACS)

Monitors auxiliary power units and hydraulic systems; manages payload bay and vent door operations; handles in-flight maintenance planning; oversees orbiter structure, tiles, blankets, etc.

Extravehicular Activities (EVA)

A specialist responsible for monitoring and coordinating preparations for and execution of space walks. Responsibilities include monitoring suit and EVA hardware performance when applicable.

Payload Deployment & Retrieval Systems (PDRS)

A specialist responsible for monitoring and coordinating the operation of the remote manipulator system when it is carried aboard the Orbiter.

Flight Surgeon (SURGEON)

Monitors health of flight crew; provides procedures and guidance on all health-related matters.

Public Affairs Officer (PAO)

Provides real-time explanation of mission events during all phases of flight.



FLIGHT Wayne Hale Wayne Hale Al Pennington Bill Reeves

CAPCOM Brent Jett Nancy Sherlock Story Musgrave Dave Wolf

PAO James Hartsfield James Hartsfield

Kyle Herring Kari Fluegel
FAO Mary Anne Plaza Mary Anne Plaza Gail Schneider Neil Woodbury

INCO Farlane MacFarlane Farlane MacFarlane Allen Morrison Gary Horlacher

FDO Matt Abbott (A)

Carson Sparks (E)

Philip Burley Bill Tracy Steve Stich

TRAJ Carson Sparks (A)

Roger Balettie (E)

Roger Balettie Richard Theis Robert Stein

GPO/RNDZ Glenn Pogue (A)

Harold Robertson (E)

Bill Ober (RNDZ) Todd Miller (RNDZ) David Harshman (RNDZ)

GNC Stanley Schaefer Stanley Schaefer David Gruber Ken Bain

EECOM Dan Molina Dan Molina Nadine Papaila Kathy Messersmith

EGIL Larry Minter Larry Minter Benjamin Pawlik Ray Miessler

PAYLOADS Mark Kirasich Mark Kirasich Roger Galpin Catherine Dominick

DPS Kimberley Terry Kimberley Terry Gary Sham James Hill

PROP William Powers William Powers Chad Clement Thomas Lazo

BOOSTER Teri Stowe N/A N/A Jon Reding

GC Charles Capps

Johnnie Brothers

Mike Marsh

John Wells

Terry Quick

Ed Klein

Frank Stolarski

Melissa Blizzard

MMACS LaDessa Hicks LaDessa Hicks Bill Anderson Robert Doremus

SURGEON Denise Baisden

Smith Johnson

Rainer Effenhauser Larry Pepper N/A

PDRS N/A Gary Pollock Albert Lee Alberto Magh

EVA N/A Gerald Miller Sue Rainwater Robert Adams

# # #


- end -

text-only version of this release